Sponsored by:

997.2 TTS or TT cabrio?

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2018, 06:41 PM
Montecarlohomme
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 997.2 TTS or TT cabrio?

hello everyone. I'm a former 996 TT and TT S owner (both manual coupes), sold them last year, now miss Porsches (I had various air cooled cars in the distant past). I'm also a journalist, and have the good fortune to review many supercars as they come out, though that's not the same as owning them of course.

I need some open topped fun and posted in the main 997 forum about whether to buy a GTS cabrio or a TT. I'm now swinging towards the TT, and also towards a PDK, because I live in London. So my question is..is there a big difference between the .2 TT and TT S in cabrio PDK form? I ask particularly because I found that my 996 TT S, while faster than my 996 TT, was actually less fun, a bit more clinical and cold.

i did drive/review all the 997 TTs when they were new, but that was a while back. I remember enjoying a .2 manual until the clutch fried itself (not my fault - blame the track fiend journalists before me) and enjoying a PDK less, but for my use, it has to be PDK.

Any thoughts? I will definitely be buying a cabrio, and have wavered between a 997, Gallardo and various other things. I have Ferraris already and want something I can use more frequently.

Old 04-17-2018, 12:15 AM
cyclrder
Pro

Received 205 Likes on 127 Posts

PDK is faster and probably a dream in traffic.... but a MT is a blast every time you get the chance to run it through the gears...block to block or on the backroads..... it is a pain in NYC traffic though..... go for the stick!

Old 04-18-2018, 06:24 PM
Montecarlohomme
Track Day