Notices
997 Turbo Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Can a Throttle Body be repaired or must it be replaced?

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2018, 06:57 PM
tguaturbo
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can a Throttle Body be repaired or must it be replaced?

Dealer says one of the motors had died in my TB and hence the car thinks its at WOT when it is not. Dealer quoting $950 for parts and labor saying it needs a new TB. The car has an AWE 750R kit and AWE tells me it's a OEM 997 GT3 TB not the TT factory unit.

Suggestions?

Tom
Old 01-10-2018, 09:06 PM
Quadcammer
Race Director

Received 1,370 Likes on 793 Posts

You can fins that throttle body all day for less than $300. ebay has dozens, some new, some used for like 150.

If you are handy, diy the install or use a good indy should save you at least 500 or so
Old 01-10-2018, 09:12 PM
lliejk
Three Wheelin'

Received 389 Likes on 275 Posts

While I am a newbie to the fly by wire TB's out there, the noise you had sounds like it was eating itself, and while you might be able to repair it by replacing the drive mechanism on the side, I doubt the dealer will. I have never tried this and the problem based on what I can see is the way it is clipped to the metal body. It looks like you can pop them off, but I have no idea where you would get the gearing/motor unless you scavenged it from another TB, I am not sure if they are available as separate pieces and worse the problem might be with the TB itself and not the motor/gearing.

Anyway, doing a little research it looks like if you already have a GT3 82mm TB then you ought to have the plenum adapter for it, so if you are handy at all, pick up a used GT3 TB (I did not look up the part number) and replace it yourself.