997 Turbo Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Baseline dyno - power dip at 4300 rpm?

Old 08-03-2017, 02:33 PM
mavila
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Baseline dyno - power dip at 4300 rpm?

I was excited to have the opportunity to get my car on a dyno last weekend and did a couple of baseline pulls. I was generally happy with the results, but I had one area of concern. On both pulls, there was a noticeable dip in the graph/drop in power at approximately 4300 rpm and then it resumes its upward trajectory again. Assuming this is not normal, what might be the cause? On my twin (sequential) turbo RX-7, there was a similar dip as the car transitioned from the smaller primary turbo to the larger secondary turbo, but that was a known phenomenon easily explained. I'm a big believer in dyno testing (and a real mechanical boost gauge) to reveal potential issues like this, but as I'm new to this car, I'm still learning what is typical and what might be problematic. Any thoughts or ideas would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: pdf
ma-dyno2.pdf (98.8 KB, 132 views)
Old 08-03-2017, 02:55 PM
IMI A
Banned

Received 259 Likes on 155 Posts

It should't dip like that. You really need to get it dynod again somewhere else to rule out operator error on the dyno and if there is still a dip maybe get it to the best Indy near you
Old 08-03-2017, 05:05 PM
Catorce
Banned

Received 73 Likes on 45 Posts

There are lots of things that dip could mean. Without further information and more data it is impossible to answer, but my guess would be an issue with the variocam....just a guess at this point however without knowing more.
Old 08-03-2017, 06:15 PM
jordanturbo
Cardigan Millionaire
Rennlist Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Data Log your Camshaft Deviation and Actual Camshaft Angle.