Notices
997 GT2/GT3 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Porsche North Houston

Turning OFF DRLs on my 2008 GT2

 
Old 06-25-2019, 09:22 AM
  #1  
Steve Theodore
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Steve Theodore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Bend, WA
Posts: 831
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Turning OFF DRLs on my 2008 GT2

Hello all,

My 2008 GT2 is a US car that went north of the border to live in Canada for a few years before I recently brought it back into the US at the end of April. One of the changes made for living in Canada is that my car has Daytime Running Lights enabled, so that anytime the engine is on and the car is moving the headlights are on. I'd like to disable this feature and would like to know if it can be done via a Durametric Pro or if only a more advanced tool like PIWIS can do that? I'm totally unaware of any way to do it without an external tool, but I should also offer that I did not receive an owners manual with my car, so let me know if I'm missing something here.

I appreciate it!
Steve Theodore is offline  
Old 06-26-2019, 09:32 AM
  #2  
Steve Theodore
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Steve Theodore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Bend, WA
Posts: 831
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

No one has ever dealt with this before?
Steve Theodore is offline  
Old 06-26-2019, 10:19 AM
  #3  
jackb911
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
jackb911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: I'm goin' to Kansas City
Posts: 1,164
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Goldcrest disabled mine and used a PIWIS.
jackb911 is offline  
Old 06-27-2019, 03:03 AM
  #4  
Steve Theodore
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Steve Theodore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Bend, WA
Posts: 831
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Thank you Jack!
Steve Theodore is offline  
Old 06-27-2019, 09:17 AM
  #5  
jackb911
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
jackb911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: I'm goin' to Kansas City
Posts: 1,164
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Steve Theodore View Post
Thank you Jack!
I was hoping that someone with a Durametric Pro would reply but that didn't happen. I'm guessing that it also has the capability for disabling the DRL's but not positive.
jackb911 is offline  
Old 06-29-2019, 06:49 AM
  #6  
Sweeper
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Sweeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: So.FLa/MA
Posts: 791
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Shut mine off with menus in the Porsche Nav/radio system ( cant remember the name of it, PWIS??)
Sweeper is offline  
Old 06-30-2019, 02:37 AM
  #7  
Steve Theodore
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Steve Theodore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Bend, WA
Posts: 831
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by jackb911 View Post
I was hoping that someone with a Durametric Pro would reply but that didn't happen. I'm guessing that it also has the capability for disabling the DRL's but not positive.
I have a local friend who has the Durametric Pro and will let me use it for this purpose, we both just aren't sure it can do it.

Originally Posted by Sweeper View Post
Shut mine off with menus in the Porsche Nav/radio system ( cant remember the name of it, PWIS??)
My GT2 has an aftermarket radio/nav so I don't have that option, and I did look through the standard settings from the control stalks and haven't seen that option.
Steve Theodore is offline  
Old 07-03-2019, 10:53 AM
  #8  
TheKane
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 211
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

My 2009 is a Canada car originally and doesn't have the option either (stalk or PCM). I believe you can have a dealer/aftermarket shop turn them off (like the seatbelt chime if you're running a harness). It's frustrating because it's on the stalk for all other 987/997 variants that I've seen.
TheKane is offline  
Old 07-03-2019, 02:46 PM
  #9  
Steve Theodore
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Steve Theodore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Bend, WA
Posts: 831
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Thanks TheKane. I'll find out pretty soon if this is even possible with Durametric Pro, else I'll likely need to get a dealer/shop to use PIWIS.
Steve Theodore is offline  
Old 07-03-2019, 02:59 PM
  #10  
Johnny DB
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Johnny DB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,375
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

You can turn it on and off in the PCM if it was a US car...Unless when it was imported the dealer did it and disabled the ability to turn the DRL on/off. I imported my Turbo from US and took 30 seconds to find it in the PCM and turn them on for inspection...dealer wanted $500 and would have disabled the option.
Johnny DB is offline  
Old 07-03-2019, 03:06 PM
  #11  
Steve Theodore
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Steve Theodore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Bend, WA
Posts: 831
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Johnny DB View Post
You can turn it on and off in the PCM if it was a US car...Unless when it was imported the dealer did it and disabled the ability to turn the DRL on/off. I imported my Turbo from US and took 30 seconds to find it in the PCM and turn them on for inspection...dealer wanted $500 and would have disabled the option.
I have an aftermarket stereo and so my PCM is not there to interface with. Only my control stalk(s). Thank you!
Steve Theodore is offline  
Old 07-03-2019, 09:21 PM
  #12  
modoz61
User
 
modoz61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: East Coast Australia
Posts: 357
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi Steve
Maybe its different in North America
On my 2010 I turned DRL off via the On board computer control stalk (bottom left stalk behind steering wheel) in the Set option I could choose to disable DRL

Not sure if you can access this

regards
Mike
modoz61 is offline  
Old 07-03-2019, 10:53 PM
  #13  
Steve Theodore
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Steve Theodore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Bend, WA
Posts: 831
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Thank you Mike. I did look into that first and foremost and didn't see any setting to do it, but perhaps I missed it? I also didn't get an owner's manual with my car...sigh. I will look again when the car is back with me (it is currently at a shop getting tinted over the long weekend).

Originally Posted by modoz61 View Post
Hi Steve
Maybe its different in North America
On my 2010 I turned DRL off via the On board computer control stalk (bottom left stalk behind steering wheel) in the Set option I could choose to disable DRL

Not sure if you can access this

regards
Mike
Steve Theodore is offline  
Old 07-05-2019, 04:47 PM
  #14  
Johnny DB
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Johnny DB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,375
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Steve Theodore View Post
I have an aftermarket stereo and so my PCM is not there to interface with. Only my control stalk(s). Thank you!
Gotcha! Sorry I missed that haha
Johnny DB is offline  
Old 07-08-2019, 10:51 PM
  #15  
Steve Theodore
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Steve Theodore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Bend, WA
Posts: 831
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

When I finally get this resolved I will try to remember to update the thread so that others can see what was needed to get this done.
Steve Theodore is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: