Notices
997 Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

how much would you pay for a 997 roller?

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2017, 05:27 PM
slaugherhouse
Instructor

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default how much would you pay for a 997 roller?

Hey Rennlisters

My friend recently developed an engine knock on his 07 911 C2 with 150,000kms. He took it to the shop and they said that the engine has to be rebuilt. He was quoted $18-20kcan for the rebuild at an independent Porsche Shop.

I saw the car and sure enough it's a engine knock. It is also blowing out black smoke from the exhaust.

Right now he's on the fence about repairing it or just cutting his losses and selling the car as is to someone. I'm no mechanic but it might be a good project to take on. Aside from the engine knock the car is in nice shape.

He said if I want it he would sell it to me for $24,000Can. Not sure if that's a good price.

What would you guys pay? or think is a fair value knowing that the engine will have to be rebuilt or replaced with a used one?

Thanks.
Old 06-09-2017, 05:33 PM
Alexandrius
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Too high imo. I've seen salvage 997s with lower milage and new engines selling for high 20s.

I'd say around 14-17k is fair at the most. This is USD not sure what that translates to in canadian dollars.
Old 06-09-2017, 10:38 PM
Bruce In Philly
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Received 1,414 Likes on 858 Posts

That is way high I think....

Search Rennlist for engine failures..... lotsa threads where folks announce their car blowing up.... there is real information on what they are offered for their rollers. It is not that much IIRC.... think about it, look at what a used functional car costs.... a used salvage engine is around $15K US, a "new" or rebuilt engine is around $23-$25..... ...... Do the math.

Peace
Bruce in Philly
Old 06-10-2017, 12:14 PM
Falcondrivr
Race Car

Received 70 Likes on 36 Posts

Renegade hybrids LS swap. Do it.
Old 06-10-2017, 12:37 PM
Fined