Sponsored by:

Track Day Insurance

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2016, 09:49 AM
rjshar
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Track Day Insurance

How many of you buy it, and are there any specific circumstances where you do or don't buy it for a DE?

I've never done a DE before, but I'm thinking the deductibles are so high, it may be worth it to just self insure. I mean, with a ~$10k deductible and a $400 premium on a $60k car, it just doesn't make sense to me.

Obviously it's easy to breach $10k in damage with these cars, but it's not like I'm out there wheel to wheel racing. Any way, just looking to see what other aspects people have thought of. Maybe I'm missing something.

Has anyone here ever made a claim?
Old 04-27-2016, 10:03 AM
Sneaky Pete
Nordschleife Master

Received 55 Likes on 36 Posts

I have never bought track insurance over 8 years of tracking with a few different 911's. I have seen a guy 2 years in a row with track insurance at the same track (Road America) crash in the same spot (The Kink) and total his car. With track insurance 2 strikes and you are out.

It's really up to the you if you feel you want it or not.....but in your case with a crazy (as in crazy insane) deductible I would pay the $350 in a heart beat.
Old 04-27-2016, 10:38 AM
Philster
Three Wheelin'

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

I read it as though track day insurance quotes the OP was getting had 10,000 dollar deductibles, which prompted the 'is it even worth it to pay 400 bucks for track day insurance if the deductible is 10 grand' question.

Curious too... because this is the first year in my life I can attend an actual track day, aside from any instructional events on a track.

Following....
Old 04-27-2016, 10:48 AM
Triple Black
Rennlist Member

Received 74 Likes on 45 Posts