Notices
997 Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

DIY (997) Replaced Spark Plugs W/O Removing Exhaust or Rear Bumper for less than $100

Old 03-19-2016, 01:41 PM
frankyluis23
Rennlist Member

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default DIY (997) Replaced Spark Plugs W/O Removing Exhaust or Rear Bumper for less than $100

**********This write up is not to be used to perform maintenance, reference use only**********

I recently purchased a Meteor Grey 2007 Porsche Carrera 2S with 47,000 miles on the odometer. The vehicle came with all the maintenance records and the one thing still remaining to be accomplished was spark plug replacement. After visiting several shops and getting quoted between $500 and $750, I decided to perform the task myself, besides I am a certified aircraft mechanic. Below are the steps I took to accomplish the task…

Technical Data
1. Porsche 997 Workshop Manual - $14, eBay (PDF download)

Parts
1. Six Bosch Spark Plugs (P/N FGR5KQE0) - $12 ea.
NOTE: It is highly recommended that you use the same spark plugs as stated by the OEM.

2. Six Ignition Coils (P/N 997.602.104.00) - $75 ea.
NOTE : Replacing ignition coils is not required unless damaged or a misfire situation has occurred, inspect ignition coils thoroughly.

Tooling
1. Low profile car jack
2. Two jack stands
3. Torque wrench (ft-lbs)
4. Torx T40 apex tip
5. 5/16” wrench
6. 5/8" ball joint spark plug socket
7. 3/8” drive extension, 3”, 6” and 10”
8. Long flat head screw driver
9. 1/4” and 3/8” drive ratchet

Preparation

1. Loosen all AFT left and right wheel lug nuts.

2. Jack vehicle high enough and install two jack stands (AFT left and right).
NOTE: See workshop manual for proper jacking points.

3. Remove both rear wheels.

Removal Procedure
1. Remove heat shield. two fasteners, it is acceptable to use a 5/16” SAE wrench. Carefully maneuver the heat shield and slide it FWD, should come off easily.