Sponsored by:

Need advice on 20k service

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2014, 04:08 PM
FJO66
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need advice on 20k service

I am looking for advice on servicing for my new to me 08 4S with 30000km/19000miles. I have the full (independent) service history from the PO.
I got the car in the spring and will not drive it in the winter here in snowy Alberta. My question is whether a full health inspection from a dealer service department vs an independent service provider is worth the money/reassurance? I have no experience with Porsche dealers and in Alberta we only have 2 dealers to chose from anyway, both about 100 miles away from me. The car runs fine and I have no issues or suspicion of issues. Drove it about 6000km since the previous service, but would like it done again before putting it to bed for the winter. Overkill? I would appreciate the wisdom of the forum and others in the same unfortunate situation of not being able to drive these machines all year round!
Old 09-30-2014, 04:32 PM
Ezkill
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Probably not overkill....when all my cars wen't to sleep for the long Edmonton winter I'd change the oil, inflate the tires and top off the gas tank with fresh gas and add a stabilizer. I'd fire them up and let them run for 25-30 minutes during nicer days when I could pop open the heated garage.

In the spring I'd run them carefully to get all the old gas out of the system, change the oil again fill with fresh fuel and drive as intended. Could be overkill but it made me sleep better at night.
Old 09-30-2014, 10:29 PM
RobC4sX51
Rennlist Member

Received 70 Likes on 43 Posts

Why not just put some snow tires on it and DRIVE IT!
Old 09-30-2014, 10:48 PM
peteb3
Racer

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I drive my C4S in the Alberta winters and am glad I do
It's a car
Meant to be driven
Old 09-30-2014, 11:36 PM
Ezkill
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by peteb3