Notices
997 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Using the Sport Chrono/Sport display function.

 
Old 03-17-2011, 09:40 PM
  #31  
zanwar
User
 
zanwar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 568
Default

The second push doesn't need to be rapid, you have a few seconds to confirm that you intended to start a new lap. It appears to use the first push as the timing point.
zanwar is offline  
Old 03-17-2011, 10:27 PM
  #32  
AWay
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
AWay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 575
Default

Indeed, however if you want the timing to be as accurate as possible you'd want to start the next lap instantly, thus the rapid double push.
AWay is offline  
Old 03-18-2011, 01:55 AM
  #33  
zanwar
User
 
zanwar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 568
Default

The second push is just a confirmation, like hitting an ok button. The first push is when the new lap time is started. There's no concept of stopping and starting a lap, you're just supplying the computer with a single timestamp that corresponds to the start/finish line.
zanwar is offline  
Old 03-18-2011, 10:47 AM
  #34  
AWay
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
AWay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 575
Default

Not in my experience, and please correct me if I'm wrong.

On my way to work this morning I tried the exact sequence I mentioned above except only pushing the stalk forward once each time to do the intervals and not a second push to start a 'new lap.'

When I was done I viewed the evaluation screen and it only had one long lap listed and no interval times. It would appear the second push 'starting a new lap' is key to recording separate time intervals or 'laps.' Unless you start a new lap each time it will only display one long length of time (lap) and you are unable to view your intervals.

A double rapid push seems to work perfectly. I'll try to post a pic later.
AWay is offline  
Old 03-18-2011, 11:19 AM
  #35  
FrankyV
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
FrankyV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southern MD
Posts: 1,031
Default

Originally Posted by AWay View Post
Not in my experience, and please correct me if I'm wrong.

On my way to work this morning I tried the exact sequence I mentioned above except only pushing the stalk forward once each time to do the intervals and not a second push to start a 'new lap.'

When I was done I viewed the evaluation screen and it only had one long lap listed and no interval times. It would appear the second push 'starting a new lap' is key to recording separate time intervals or 'laps.' Unless you start a new lap each time it will only display one long length of time (lap) and you are unable to view your intervals.

A double rapid push seems to work perfectly. I'll try to post a pic later.
You are correct- until you push the second time on "New Lap" the timer does not restart.
FrankyV is offline  
Old 03-21-2011, 02:43 PM
  #36  
AWay
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
AWay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 575
Default SUCCESS!

Worked extremely well I thought!

Using the method I outlined in post #30 I successfully made use of the chrono function during a HPDE this weekend. It's up to you though to accurately trigger the interval/new lap each time by the line. But even if it's 1-2/10ths off it's close enough to see the differences between laps. (of course getting multiple clean laps proves sometimes difficult in a HPDE, but that's to be expected I guess.)

Anywho, just thought I'd chime back in and say it worked. Provided you're capable of triggering it each lap, I think it's definitely useful.

Have fun!
AWay is offline  
Old 07-04-2017, 02:46 PM
  #37  
SDCLTD
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 16
Default

Question: How do you download the data after you have used the recorded Lap Times using the Sport Chrono? Anybody know?

Thanks in advance.
SDCLTD is offline  
Old 08-31-2018, 11:19 AM
  #38  
jayi836
User
 
jayi836's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Simi Valley
Posts: 170
Default

AWay thanks for the information, General question to the group just picked up 2009 997 TT, The "Chrono" is not an option on the multi function display I see it on the PCM and the sports mode is engaged.
The picture below is from a 997.2 Manual Mine is in the car and similar.
I see limit,Info,Oil,TPM and Set No Chrono what gives?
Only had the car a few days.

jayi836 is offline  
Old 08-31-2018, 11:54 AM
  #39  
jfort
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
jfort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Findlay OH
Posts: 312
Default

Originally Posted by AWay View Post
Okay so I think I got it pretty well figured out, and it's actually not too difficult!

-Go to the sport display screen and select 'start' trip'. This will be begin recording your trip as soon as you start the chrono.
-Start the chrono when you cross 'the line' which begins recording your first reference lap.
-Move the stalk as to highlight 'interval' but don't push it forward until you're crossing start/finish line.
-Push forward twice on the stalk rapidly. Which records your interval time (lap time) and also begins another lap.
-Once settled back in the pits (or your garage) select 'evaluation' from the sport display screen and there are all your lap times. Which I believe you can save the data as well.

I only played around with it out on a short drive and wrote the above from memory, but it seemed easy enough. Yes, if using it on a track you'll have to rapidly push the stalk forward twice each lap, but honestly it doesn't seem that bad to me. No, it won't be to the tenth accurate since you're responsible for stopping each lap and not a computer, but it's better than nothing I suppose.

I'm going to try it out this weekend properly and will let you know how it goes.
Thanks for doing this. After two years of looking at it, I may actually try it now. (Although I have Harry's) Not one of Porsche's better ideas and implementation.
jfort is offline  
Old 11-26-2018, 03:39 PM
  #40  
911EK
User
 
911EK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Earth
Posts: 11
Default

Originally Posted by jayi836 View Post
AWay thanks for the information, General question to the group just picked up 2009 997 TT, The "Chrono" is not an option on the multi function display I see it on the PCM and the sports mode is engaged.
The picture below is from a 997.2 Manual Mine is in the car and similar.
I see limit,Info,Oil,TPM and Set No Chrono what gives?
Only had the car a few days.

Still trying to figure this out. I have a recently purchased 2011 997.2 Turbo S. As I dobber thru the menu I don't get a few options. Like the Chrono, Audio, TPM and Nav. Do get 5 or 6 of them. Limit, INFO, Oil, Set...... Appreciate any info. TIA
911EK is offline  
Old 11-26-2018, 03:49 PM
  #41  
jayi836
User
 
jayi836's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Simi Valley
Posts: 170
Default

Looks like a trip to the dealer is in order to get this to function, I have tried with the Durametric and doesn't seem to make a difference.
haven't spent a lot of time on it since I got the car in late August.

Has something to do with delivery mode (new car handover mode) my car has a history of key reprograms perhaps this has been going on for a while (CarFax report). This makes no sense as the home link and seat heaters work fine I can manually activate the Chrono with the Durametric.
jayi836 is offline  
Old 01-15-2019, 09:53 PM
  #42  
jayi836
User
 
jayi836's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Simi Valley
Posts: 170
Default

Update:
Was never able to get the sports chrono to work last year. Durametric Pro failed me or doesn't like this car??
I replaced the PCM 2.1 two weeks ago and like magic the cruise control dash indicator and the chrono started working for the first time since I purchased the car in August.
I have some coding errors that need to be sorted, removed the CD changer XM and Nav DVD units all deleted from gateway, Bose amp working but will upgrade in a few months. saved ~15-20 pounds
jayi836 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Using the Sport Chrono/Sport display function.


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: