Notices
997 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Using the Sport Chrono/Sport display function.

 
Old 03-15-2011, 12:29 AM
  #16  
zanwar
User
 
zanwar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 568
Default

Originally Posted by AWay View Post
I'm familiar with the interval timing you refer to. I could handle pushing the stalk forward at the finish line each lap to mark the split time. And then I assume all the splits will be shown at the end? Definitely worth a try.
Turns out I was wrong. You do have to hit the stalk twice. Select the interval option and push the stalk forward each time you want to start a new lap, then push again to confirm. Looks like you have about 5 seconds to confirm, so the second push isn't time critical. You'll see your lap information on the PCM, and you'll be able to review your times at the end of the session.
zanwar is offline  
Old 03-15-2011, 03:09 AM
  #17  
gstahl
User
 
gstahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 182
Default

Reading the most recent info in the owners manual it seems you can set a lap to be a reference lap and record laps against it then download the info. I looks to already use GPS to track your lap. Not sure about auto lapping. Seems worth trying some random closed course to see what one can make it do and what the data is that it spits out.
gstahl is offline  
Old 03-15-2011, 10:33 AM
  #18  
AWay
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
AWay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 575
Default

That's what had me thinking about 'auto lapping' was the reference lap you can supposedly record/set and compare others against.

Still investigating.
AWay is offline  
Old 03-15-2011, 12:13 PM
  #19  
FrankyV
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
FrankyV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southern MD
Posts: 1,031
Default

Originally Posted by gstahl View Post
Reading the most recent info in the owners manual it seems you can set a lap to be a reference lap and record laps against it then download the info. I looks to already use GPS to track your lap. Not sure about auto lapping. Seems worth trying some random closed course to see what one can make it do and what the data is that it spits out.
Believe me, it does not work that way. A reference lap is one you set by manually marking the start and end using the stalk. You then have to manually mark the end of each ensuing lap using not one, but two pushes on the stalk, one to select "Intermediate Time" and one to select "New Lap" which renders the sytem functionally useless for timing hot laps with any cosnsitencey or accuracy. To my knowledge Sport Chrono makes no use of GPS, even in navigation equipped cars. For what the option costs, it should.
FrankyV is offline  
Old 03-15-2011, 12:24 PM
  #20  
MJones
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
MJones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 5,567
Default

The interface just SUCKS!

For timing:
One click of the stalk starts timing.
Two clicks stops the lap and starts another.

I don't know but I'm too busy driving...

Perhaps a beacon would be nice!
MJones is offline  
Old 03-15-2011, 01:44 PM
  #21  
gstahl
User
 
gstahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 182
Default

Can one just leave it run and look at the data later, has anyone tried doing this?
gstahl is offline  
Old 03-15-2011, 01:57 PM
  #22  
zanwar
User
 
zanwar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 568
Default

Originally Posted by gstahl View Post
Can one just leave it run and look at the data later, has anyone tried doing this?
Nope, it won't have anything recorded. You have to manually set the laps by pushing on the stalk. Once you've set the reference (first) lap, the sport display will show if you are on or off the pace (the circle is displayed in green or orange). It must track your distance travelled in some way or another.
zanwar is offline  
Old 03-15-2011, 04:33 PM
  #23  
Minok
Super User
 
Minok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 2,408
Default

We are not F1 drivers, I know, but with all the buttons and levers they have to adjust in corners and as they drive, is it that hard to operate one lever as you cross the start/finish line? Unless the spot you want to mark is at the entrance to a corner, it should not be that hard.. you do have to remember to do it though.
Minok is offline  
Old 03-15-2011, 05:11 PM
  #24  
Nugget
User
 
Nugget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Houston Texas USA
Posts: 1,889
Default

Originally Posted by Minok View Post
is it that hard to operate one lever as you cross the start/finish line?
Yes. It really is. Even if you're not in the middle of a pass it's hard to be consistently accurate. And if you botch it up, it ruins the timing for two laps, not just one.
Nugget is offline  
Old 03-15-2011, 05:23 PM
  #25  
FrankyV
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
FrankyV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southern MD
Posts: 1,031
Default

Originally Posted by Minok View Post
We are not F1 drivers, I know, but with all the buttons and levers they have to adjust in corners and as they drive, is it that hard to operate one lever as you cross the start/finish line? Unless the spot you want to mark is at the entrance to a corner, it should not be that hard.. you do have to remember to do it though.
Sounds simple but even during a DE i couldn't do it consistently: 1) push once within 5 seconds of starting line 2) push again at starting line
FrankyV is offline  
Old 03-15-2011, 07:36 PM
  #26  
cgfen
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
cgfen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vista CA
Posts: 5,119
Default

Originally Posted by AWay View Post
Yes, I've played with the start/stop/interval etc on the stalk but wasn't sure how to have it record a distance/lap and then time that lap repeatedly. (ie: lapping)

Surely you wouldn't have to activate the stalk every lap would you? I understood it was able to automatically record your laps each time you travel the recorded distance.
actually, you have to do it twice at the end / beginning of each lap.
once to stop timing the current time period
once to initiate timing of the new time period.

flick, flick the stalk with your right hand's fingers as you cross the start / finish line or some other convenient landmark.

make sure you also study your PCM manual for user info.

it's worth figuring out so that you can compare the bar graphs later.

have fun

Craig
cgfen is offline  
Old 03-15-2011, 08:47 PM
  #27  
Bruce R
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Bruce R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: The NC
Posts: 1,377
Default

Originally Posted by SkankyFrank View Post
Sounds simple but even during a DE i couldn't do it consistently: 1) push once within 5 seconds of starting line 2) push again at starting line
I would agree. And if you mess up, you mess uo 2 laps! Plus as an intermediate driver I found that it was taxing on my mental resourses and sometimes I travelled off the ideal line while pondering when to hit the f'ing stalk.

I too have heard of Harry's Lap timer, I'd use that next time out. The SC was a good idea badly executed. As for the "in dash" display present lap vs preselected lap, when oh when would you get a chance to view that pray tell? Down the Mulsanne?
Bruce R is offline  
Old 03-16-2011, 03:13 AM
  #28  
csm356
*******philiac
 
csm356's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Lorenzo Valley
Posts: 17
Default

In a DE event, too much with the double push (and you have to hold it for a beat, no?) and therefore inaccurate, I agree. But for a favorite section of road as the manual suggests, it's a fun distraction. I use it commuting. Traffic usually screws it up, but that's part of the fun, finding out if you beat the "reference lap". More of a curiosity/toy than track tool. IMHO, all the other features you get with the SC+ package are what you're buying. Haven't tried it on a T/D rally though. Could be fun. One thing it does do consistently: impresses first-time passengers.

I'm going to give it s go for the first time at an AutoX in a couple weeks, hopefully I'll be practiced enough to stop the clock and just not flash my high beams inexplicably at the timeslip provider.
csm356 is offline  
Old 03-16-2011, 04:59 PM
  #29  
MJones
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
MJones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 5,567
Default

Originally Posted by cgfen View Post
actually, you have to do it twice at the end / beginning of each lap.
once to stop timing the current time period
once to initiate timing of the new time period.

flick, flick the stalk with your right hand's fingers as you cross the start / finish line or some other convenient landmark.

have fun

Craig
Hard to do with the right hand's fingers, the left is more convenient, at least for me!
MJones is offline  
Old 03-17-2011, 07:59 PM
  #30  
AWay
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
AWay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 575
Default

Okay so I think I got it pretty well figured out, and it's actually not too difficult!

-Go to the sport display screen and select 'start' trip'. This will be begin recording your trip as soon as you start the chrono.
-Start the chrono when you cross 'the line' which begins recording your first reference lap.
-Move the stalk as to highlight 'interval' but don't push it forward until you're crossing start/finish line.
-Push forward twice on the stalk rapidly. Which records your interval time (lap time) and also begins another lap.
-Once settled back in the pits (or your garage) select 'evaluation' from the sport display screen and there are all your lap times. Which I believe you can save the data as well.

I only played around with it out on a short drive and wrote the above from memory, but it seemed easy enough. Yes, if using it on a track you'll have to rapidly push the stalk forward twice each lap, but honestly it doesn't seem that bad to me. No, it won't be to the tenth accurate since you're responsible for stopping each lap and not a computer, but it's better than nothing I suppose.

I'm going to try it out this weekend properly and will let you know how it goes.
AWay is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Using the Sport Chrono/Sport display function.


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: