DIY: 997.1 aftermarket MOMO steering wheel install guide 2022

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2022, 01:12 AM
ifung90
Track Day

Received 17 Likes on 6 Posts
Default DIY: 997.1 aftermarket MOMO steering wheel install guide 2022

Hi all,

I spent about 10 hours searching up all the details and how to install an aftermarket steering wheel into my just acquired 997.1 C2S.

I ran into many questions, such as air bag resistors, horn wiring, alignment, etc, etc. Here is what I did and I really just want to help other members make this experience more pleasant and easy.

disclaimer: I’m not a professional and this is a complication of what I did and what I referenced from others. Some photos will be from other threads, I’ll try to post credit if I could find it’s source as credits are all to the rightful owners.

This was the wheel I chose. Momo 07. It’s the same as the cup wheel I’ve had in my 1994 993 3.8 car as before but without the Porsche engraving.

I ordered the hub boss kit from Design911 UK. Great place to order just about everything.

Referenced here, you will need 2x 3 ohm resistors. Be sure to measure and make sure it is registering close to 3.0 ohm.

Parts list:

1) Momo wheel of your choice
2) Momo boss hub kit
3) 2 x 3 ohm resistors

tools:
1) electrical tape
2) m12 triple square bit
3) 3/8 or 1/2 wrench and extension
4) torque wrench (37 ft lbs)
5) solder or some connectors
6) small flat head screw driver that’s long or a 4mm Allen key with some leverage
7) t25/t30 torx bit
8) something to poke the pins from connectors
9) 10 Mm bit to remove the battery terminals

Steps:

1) insert the key into the ignition
2) turn to accessories on , leave engine off
3) disconnect battery (positive side) with your 10mm socket wrench, wait 10 minutes at least. Make sure you insulate the terminal so it won’t have a chance of contacting at some point. I used a couple dry microfiber towels.