Sponsored by:

Is the PDK a compromise?

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2021, 05:53 PM
atallguy
Intermediate

Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Is the PDK a compromise?

I’m new to Porsche having recently determined that the childhood 911 I fell in love with and dreamed of is the one for me and have decided that it’s in my future. I have since focused on the 997 and am further determining what options and colors would be most appealing to me.

I entered into this thinking a manual was the route I wanted to go since the days of loving taking out and driving around my dads 280ZX without his knowledge.

I’ve since been reading about the PDK and seeing the rave reviews around it and how it’s the future of Porsche and wondering if a manual is the right route?

I’m curious about others opinions and in particularly those that have driven or owned both and your thoughts on the platform?

I don’t want to start a war here but interested in a conversation around experiences, pros and cons etc. Thanks!
Old 02-03-2021, 06:09 PM
J.Tan
Rennlist Member

Received 348 Likes on 148 Posts

I'm not sure if you have seen this video. I will let it do the talking.

The following 4 users liked this post by J.Tan:
Robocop305 (02-08-2021), Scalp_em (02-04-2021), TerrestrialFlyte (02-04-2021), TommyV44 (02-04-2021)
Old 02-03-2021, 06:12 PM
hatchetf15
Rennlist Member

Received 1,044 Likes on 645 Posts

Heel-toe kinda driver or fast is everything? Commuter vehicle or canyon ripper? All depends on what you want to do with the car.
The following users liked this post:
Fined (02-04-2021)
Old 02-03-2021, 06:12 PM
saabin
Rennlist Member

Received 557 Likes on 366 Posts

Originally Posted by atallguy
I don’t want to start a war here..
Good luck w/ that.

Entirely up to you, but in my experiences with the 997 generation, for the N/A models I'd say the stick. for the turbos, I'd go PDK.

Last edited by saabin; 02-03-2021 at 06:14 PM.
Robocop305 (02-08-2021)
Old 02-03-2021, 06:13 PM
Doug H