Notices
997 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

iPhone / PCM connection problems

 
Old 07-08-2019, 02:07 PM
  #1  
JoeSwift
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default iPhone / PCM connection problems

I have a 2012 997.2 Carrera S Cab and I bought it CPO in November 2014. As of 2-3 months ago, my PCM won't recognize an iPhone or iPod. In the past, I have never had any problems connecting my iOS devices to the PCM using the center console connector (and the 30-pin-to-Lightning adapter with the short cable). But now the PCM won't recognize any iOS device and I don't know what to do. I have cleaned the Lightning sockets on my iOS devices. I have removed and reinserted the connector cable. I have tried another 30-pin-to-Lightning adapter. Nothing I've done has worked. I haven't taken it to the dealer for service, but I'd rather not spend several hundred bucks to fix this thing if I don't have to.

Any suggestions? Should I reset the PCM? (I'd rather not lose my settings.) Should I pull out the unit and check to make sure that all cables in the rear of the PCM are connected?
JoeSwift is offline  
Old 07-08-2019, 08:05 PM
  #2  
ManoTexas
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 185
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Did you do iOS upgrade? Mine iPhone worked great until I did one, then it drove PCM crazy, then did another one and since then no bueno. PCM doesn’t recognize it at all. Gave up and now using memory stick for music.
ManoTexas is offline  
Old 07-11-2019, 01:10 PM
  #3  
JoeSwift
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have done regular iOS upgrades with not a peep of problems over 4.5 years now. I don't know the exact date that the connection didn't work anymore, so I can't tie the problem to a particular new release of iOS.
JoeSwift is offline  
Old 07-11-2019, 11:34 PM
  #4  
boris_gti
User
 
boris_gti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Windsor, ON
Posts: 60
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Mine does not always provide “iPod” option when I plug my phone in. It only allows for “AUX” input, which does not allow me to switch between the songs using the radio.
And then other times it allows for “iPod” option and life is good.
This can be frustrating at times as I can’t seem to pin point the issue.
boris_gti is offline  
Old 07-13-2019, 06:39 PM
  #5  
HLCinCOU
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 123
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

It had not occurred to me that I could use the iPod input, and I lack the required adapter. So I have no information on whether that works for me. But I recommend getting a splitter that goes from lightening to both USB for charging and 3.5mm for audio, and just running through the AUX input. Yes, you'll have to use the phone to choose what you're playing.
HLCinCOU is offline  
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: