Sponsored by:

German Engineering?: Begin 997.2 rant

Old 06-08-2019, 10:28 PM
Westside997
Instructor

Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts
Default German Engineering?: Begin 997.2 rant

Maybe a better title is: "F**K YOU, HANS!"

Let this be the official thread of head scratching and fist shaking at the waaaaaaaaay over used notion that german engineering is some how superior, because frankly at every turn working on this car I'm finding one dumb engineering decision after another. Granted I'm new to Porsche and I've been doing 95% of my own work on the car, so I'll admit that there is going to be a learning curve, but $%*#ing come on.

Water pump and thermostat replacement is craptastic due to having to lower the engine to remove the engine carrier (when doing it per the service manual). I'll take having to mess with a bolt running through a bumper but WHY is that other upper bolt behind the bumper as well? They couldn't have moved the boss down one inch so the bolt can just be pulled straight out? Looks like they have room. On my 997.2, even when you slowly and carefully lower the engine just enough to free that bolt out of the carrier it puts stress one of the AC lines which hisses and leaks. They couldn't have designed 25.4mm (1") more play so the lines don't get under needless tension? What the f@#k! I probably just shaved 10 years off of my life huffing freon trying to find where the leak was coming from. And you can't design a water pump to last longer than 40,000 miles? Were you born stupid, Hans? Charge me $1 more for a bigger and better bearing.