Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

m205 for black 997

Old 04-10-2019, 09:06 PM
mercman
Instructor

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default m205 for black 997

Doing lots of research online to help remove some of the swirl marks on my black 2010 997. I'm leaning towards M205 with my DA polisher with a lake country orange pad. Wondering if anyone has any similar experience or results? Open to ideas, i have limited experience with a DA but lots of experience washing and detailing cars.

Thx,
Old 04-10-2019, 10:02 PM
vern1
Drifting

Received 104 Likes on 70 Posts

Have you checked out the detailing forums like Auto Geek or Autopia as they have the latest info on this stuff? I am a Menzerna guy so cant comment on the Megs stuff but start with the least abrasive stuff first and a relatively soft pad and move up from that if it doesnt do the job. I thought orange pads were a pretty stiff (ie high cutting) pad but maybe thats changed. I only use my LC orange pads for pretty major paint correction
Old 04-10-2019, 10:05 PM
sober_owl
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

same here.. but you will need m105 and m205 to refine it.. .205 is a finishing polish
Old 04-11-2019, 08:57 AM
Petza914
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Received 6,139 Likes on 3,912 Posts

As crazy as it sounds, the Turtle Wax Jet Black kit with the black tinted polish, detailer spray, and wax do a phenomenal job on black.

Old 04-11-2019, 09:52 AM
cwheeler
Three Wheelin'

Received 372 Likes on 268 Posts

I'm a big fan of Obsessed Garage. So I tend to follow Matt's recommendations. For a 1 step clean up, I think you need to check out 210. It will finish better than 205. If you want more polishing on the finish, try Sonax Perfect Finish. You can use both on a polishing pad.

Cw
Old 04-11-2019, 10:09 AM
anthony42hat
Instructor

Received 31 Likes on 22 Posts