Notices
997 Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Engine seems to stay hot long after shutoff!?

Old 02-21-2019, 07:20 AM
Dubgw
Instructor

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default Engine seems to stay hot long after shutoff!?

Hi.....Newbie here!.... 2011 C4S Cab
i find above issue even after short 10-15 min rides.
i live in South Fla. so air temp usually 75 and above.
i don't " hear" any sound of cooling fans running upon shutoff....should I ??
After pulling back into garage, heat noticeably emanating through slats hours later!

Car is CPO but don't want to bring to dealer until I get some replies here!
Thanks to all in advance,
Geo
Old 02-21-2019, 09:17 AM
cosm3os
Burning Brakes

Received 93 Likes on 56 Posts

Relax. It's fine.
Old 02-21-2019, 10:06 AM
yvesvidal
Pro

Received 119 Likes on 69 Posts

In my garage, I have been opening the rear hood, to let the hot air escape. It helps with the longevity of all plastic parts in the engine compartment and warms up your garage in the winter time.

Yves
Old 02-21-2019, 10:35 AM
bronz
Rennlist Member

Received 124 Likes on 60 Posts

Originally Posted by cosm3os
Relax. It's fine.
this
Old 02-21-2019, 11:15 AM
Bruce In Philly
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Received 1,409 Likes on 854 Posts

I don't think opening the hood is a good thing..... my 2009 will monitor the temps inside the engine compartment for 30 minutes after shutdown and will fire up the fans to cool if needed. The fans don't fire up if the hood is open (this has been the "knowledge" of the 'net, there is no mention of this disconnect in my manual). I have been in the garage 15 mnts after I shut down the car and the fans will kick in. The assumption is opening the hood will evacuate heat better/faster than the fans.... IMO, fans are better and are set at a temp the engineers defined as appropriate.