Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   997 Forum (https://rennlist.com/forums/997-forum-113/)
-   -   Thoughts on a rebuilt 997.1S (https://rennlist.com/forums/997-forum/1123152-thoughts-on-a-rebuilt-997-1s.html)

chestershotfries 01-09-2019 03:04 PM

Thoughts on a rebuilt 997.1S

1 Attachment(s)
Hi, I'm relatively new to Porsches but have recently been eyeing and looking at buying one. I recently stumbled across a 997.1 Carrera S listed at 29k with a rebuilt engine and was wondering if anyone has any opinions on whether it is worth checking it out or not since the listing is relatively far away. The seller says that the engine was rebuilt at around 64k and has under 1000 miles put on it since the rebuild. He sent me the full receipt for the engine rebuild and I've attached it below. Thanks for any help you guys can give me.

groovzilla 01-09-2019 03:17 PM

Tiptronic or manual transmission? Overall condition?
Seems like a good deal if all checks out after PPI and visual inspection/test drive - What is the weld repair listed 2x at bottom of invoice??

chestershotfries 01-09-2019 03:36 PM

It is a manual. Photos look good and it looks to be in pretty good condition though I'd have to fly over to check it out in person. I sent him an email regarding the last 2 items and asking for a little more information regarding service history, carfax, etc. Will report back once I get those.

rtl5009 01-09-2019 03:54 PM

Did they replate the cylinders or resleeve the block?

Iceter 01-09-2019 04:07 PM

Cars with rebuilt engines don't scare me when they come with documentation of the rebuild.

Cars with rebuilt engines with only a few miles on them since the rebuild scare the hell out of me.