Alignment advice for a not awesome driver on a stock 997.2 C4S

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2018, 10:24 PM
tgilgan
Advanced

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Alignment advice for a not awesome driver on a stock 997.2 C4S

Hi all,

I am getting my lower control arm replaced next week cuz it is squeaking like crazy.. anyway they will be performing an alignment afterwards and I was wondering if I should get them to perform an aggressive (however aggressive the stock setup can get) alignment as I am off to the track the following week. I have had the car for 2 years and have done 6 DE's. I am no pro driver for sure.

I saw a thread or two on alignment, but I am more interested in the setup for a casual DE driver vs. someone trying to be competitive. Should I max it out or leave it stock.

What are the recommended setting to tell my guy?

thanks!
Tom
Old 08-28-2018, 10:00 AM
semicycler
Three Wheelin'

Received 42 Likes on 36 Posts

Use the GT3 specs as your targets. But due to limitations in front camber adjustment it will come up short. Also rear toe as low as possible to reduce tire wear. It's a great setup for a daily driver with occasional track usage.

Front:
Max camber with stock components, should land around -1.1 or so. -1.5 is GT3.
Toe in the middle to lower side of spec
Caster is not adjustable so as long as it's in spec you are fine. If it's not in spec then back off camber until caster comes back into spec.

Rear
Camber around -1.5 or so. Should be able to get here with stock components.
Toe on the very low side of spec, almost zero. This reduces rear tire wear.
Old 09-03-2018, 05:17 PM
tgilgan
Advanced

Thanks!

Tomorrow is the big day for the alignment, I'll let you know how they did, and how it works on the track!

T
Old 09-03-2018, 05:32 PM
bhvrdr
Pro

Received 38 Likes on 23 Posts

Old 09-03-2018, 05:57 PM
Meursault88
Burning Brakes

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts