Sponsored by:

my FIRST oil change. HELP

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2018, 07:11 PM
joe084S
Instructor

Received 17 Likes on 13 Posts
Default my FIRST oil change. HELP

So I just bought my first Porsche in novenmber on 2017. it is a 2008 4s X51 PCCB PSE car. it has 66000 miles on the car and I decided to change the oil in the car yesterday. this is my first time doing this on the car, yes I have changed oil in tons of cars and I am not a complete moron lol.

I put in a new OEM oil filter with gasket and new drain plug all from my local Porsche dealer. I did everything which was super easy and no issues at all. The owners manual calls for 8.7 quarts and that is what I put in the car. I used Mobile 1 0-w40 btw.

I started the car and let it warm up for about 10 minutes then shut the car off. waited about 2 -3 minutes then turned key to ignition on and ran the oil level check. It took 10 minutes to run and after it was done it is showing FULL. The oil level light bar is completely lit up even above the higher line on the oil level bar.

My question is should I drain some oil out of the car? is it okay where it is? should I run the oil level test on a cold car or warm? any help would be great at this point. I just don't want to drive it if there is to much oil in the car and possible cause damage to the engine.

Thanks guys,
Joe
Old 06-14-2018, 07:17 PM
LexVan
Banned

Received 5,388 Likes on 2,509 Posts

You check cold. If tomorrow the bars are all lite, I'd take some out, because you don't know how much over you are with the gauge fully lite, all bars.

How long did you let it drain? You're not that much over. Maybe 300-400 mls over.
Old 06-14-2018, 08:56 PM
joe084S
Instructor

I let it drain for about 15 minutes from the plug and about 5 minutes from the filter houseing
Old 06-14-2018, 10:39 PM
DesmoSD
Three Wheelin'

Received 355 Likes on 252 Posts

I see your problem here... you used Mobil 1. haha j/k