Notices
997 Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Michelin Tire Warranty Reduced for Widebody?

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2018, 03:38 PM
Cmcdaniel993
Rennlist Member

Received 19 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Michelin Tire Warranty Reduced for Widebody?

Sorry if this is common knowledge, but this is my first time buying new tires for my C4S. After looking at prices for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tires online and locally, Costco had the cheapest price for all 4 tires. After I purchased the tires (I'm currently waiting for them to be shipped) they said... "Just so you know, because you are ordering a split set, the wear warranty gets cut in half, guaranteeing only 15K miles on these tires."

I have read enough posts to understand that I will be replacing the back tires 2 to 3 times more than the fronts going forward, but I had not noticed anyone referring to a warranty reduction. It's clear why a manufacturer would do this based on the offset wear, but just checking to see if I should buy from another dealer, or if I will face the same answer everywhere I go.

Thanks!
Chris
Old 05-15-2018, 03:45 PM
Skwerl
Drifting

Received 303 Likes on 185 Posts

Amazingly timely post. I just ordered a set of PS4S for my Turbo from Costco last week, still waiting on them to ship as well. I didn't notice anything mentioning the warranty thing so I'll be interested to hear responses. (I'm also sort of wondering how long I'll have to wait on them to ship, if I had done Tirerack I'd have them already.)
Old 05-15-2018, 03:51 PM
ocgarza
Drifting

Received 149 Likes on 125 Posts

We have no Costco where I live and I too purchased a set of PS4S (from Discount Tire). Full warranty.
Old 05-15-2018, 04:03 PM
Fined
Three Wheelin'

Received 206 Likes on 140 Posts

if you're gonna take a hit on the warranty I'm not sure the value is there to buy them from costco.
Old 05-15-2018, 04:24 PM
Cmcdaniel993
Rennlist Member