Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Comfort Package Worth it? And Other Stuff

Old 02-14-2018, 10:24 AM
catbeasy
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Comfort Package Worth it? And Other Stuff

Hello, new to the forum! Never owned a Porsche, but now am interested in buying a used one as I cannot afford new. Looking at the 2010-2012 range in either the base Carrera or Carrera S. So, couple of things I wanted to ask advice on some things. I realize some (all?) of this may be subjective, but nonetheless figure if I get enough replies I can sort it out.

Note 1: I have only test driven one automatic tranny Porsche, so I have very little experience to go by and it wasn't for very long- 15 minutes so difficult to get a guage on it being a daily driver etc..Was a wonderful 15 mins though, sold me on wanting one!
Note 2: Per the question about comfort, I do get what kind of car this is, I have no illusions about a Porsche 911 being a limo. However, it is a consideration for me, if, after driving for an hour, my back is jacked..

1) Does the comfort package substantially increase comfort over Porsche's sans this?
2) Is the road noise bad? (bad = its hard to hear conversation on your cell phone)?
3) For a manual shift, does the manual shift super smooth? Assuming no mechanical issues and the car is newer, is there any delay or lag in acceleration when you 'gas it'. The one I test drove was automatic and shifted smoothly and awesomly!
4) Any issues with water coming through the driver/passenger side windows when it rains?
5) Any general considerations from owning a 2011; for example: Mechanically sound? Reliability? Problem areas (mechanical and interior for example)

Thanks for any advice, input, opinions, facts etc..! And feel free to add pet peeves, issues etc.I am looking for more critical aspects as I am mostly familiar with what people do like about this car..!

-Martin
Old 02-14-2018, 12:11 PM
bhvrdr
Pro

Received 38 Likes on 23 Posts