Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Flat Tire today - Spare!

Old 10-19-2017, 08:05 PM
Jack667
Rennlist Member

Received 110 Likes on 58 Posts
Default Flat Tire today - Spare!

I've been carrying around a spare tire in the frunk for about 7 years and finally used it today. I was on the tail end of a 4-day trip from Atlanta to Charlotte to Asheville, and back home.

About 20 miles from home, I was driving down a local 45mph 4-lane road and hit a center reflector lane marker and it sounded like I ran over something much bigger. It was much more dramatic than it should have been and I got worried.

I pulled into a parking lot and saw the rear driver tire was quite low on air. I keep a small compressor in the car and it didn't seem to help. I was losing air on the inside of the tire.

I pulled out my 996 spare and jack kit and removed the tire to see that it was quite worn and there was no chance for plug repair.

I thought about putting the spare on the front and the front tire on the rear, but the 996 spare will no longer fit on my front hub, now that I have girodisc. I'm pretty sure I've tried it before and it worked, but now the wheel is unable to clear the caliper, maybe bc it's low profile.

So I mounted the spare on the rear and got home just fine. The whole thing took less than 30 mins, even with the wasted time on the front tire.

Lesson learned that I need to figure out a solution in case I get a flat in the front - maybe a spacer and some longer studs?

Anyway - no AAA or other roadside service, so very happy to DIY and get on my way...

Cheers!

Old 10-19-2017, 08:19 PM
the_buch
Rennlist Member

Received 82 Likes on 67 Posts

Nicely done, and good to know your backup system works! Sounds like it's time for some new rears, and maybe all four. Cheers.
Old 10-19-2017, 09:24 PM
Jack667
Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by the_buch
Nicely done, and good to know your backup system works! Sounds like it's time for some new rears, and maybe all four. Cheers.