Sponsored by:

Question about engine compartment cooling fan

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2014, 12:58 AM
up4speed
Instructor

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Question about engine compartment cooling fan

I have a 2001 TT, I'm still new to the car and trying to figure out what is normal, and what isn't.
After reading hundreds of posts regarding the engine compartment fan, I still don't know if mine is behaving normally. It's possible that mine may be different because my car is not 100% stock anymore, and I think that may causing confusion for me.
I was under the impression that the fan should be off until the engine bay reaches a certain temperature while the engine is running (I think it was 170 deg.), and when the engine and key are off, it turns on if the engine compartment gets up to about 140 degrees or something like that.
The way mine is operating:
Cold engine Key on, engine off - fan is off (that's good)
Hot engine, engine off - fan kicks on when heat builds up (that's good)
BUT.......
Cold engine, fan starts immediately when engine is started and runs the whole time that the engine is running. That's the confusing part because I thought it supposed to kick on only when the engine bay reaches a certain temperature and cycle off and on as needed to keep the engine bay temps down below that 170 degree mark.

If my car is not behaving normally, I may have the answers, but would like confirmation from someone who knows for sure.
There are 2 possibilities for the fans behavior.

1) My spoiler was stuck in the down position so I installed the fixed spoiler kit from e-bay. The instructions said to install the fixed spoiler harness in order to prevent the error light from coming on. I installed the harness # 996-612-070-04. Possibly this harness was designed for the GT cars and some how keeps the fan on?

2) The car has an ECU tune from Ultimate Motorwerks (UMW), possibly intentionally programmed to keep the fan on?

Any ideas?