Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Advice on this 996TT!

Old 07-10-2012, 06:24 PM
nevrlast16
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice on this 996TT!

Hey everyone! I already posted this in the regular 996 forums but it was suggested I put it up here too.

First time poster here and I wanted to present my situation and get opinions on if this is the right car for me! I'll try to keep it brief but I also want to give the details I can about the situation so you understand my dilemma.

I've been looking over these forums and reading as much as I can about the 996 because I have the opportunity to purchase one. I was hoping to get some opinions on the value of this particular offer and if this is the right car for me. My dad is a Porsche owner (944) and talked to his mechanic about my interest in getting my first p-car. I'm a young professional (25) with a good chunk of money I have been putting aside since I started work to purchase a Porsche. I had originally been looking at something like a 2009 Cayman, something in the price range of 40K or slightly more as that would only require a small car loan (5-7k) for me to purchase.

When my dad mentioned this to his mechanic he was told that another customer was trying to get rid of a 2002 996 Turbo, 49k miles, that he had been the mechanic on for the past 6 years. The asking price is right around 38-40k. I don't live near my father anymore but he had the opportunity to test drive the car this morning and says it looks fantastic for its age and drives just as well. He is worried that it is more car then I need as it has an induction mod and a flashed chip and makes about 500hp. Other options include the turbo aerokit, upgraded Carbon/Leather steering wheel, CD Changer and Porsche 220 CDR Radio and Heated seats. (Looked these up off the options tag). Pictures to follow in another post!