FVD K24 Race turbos in my 996tt

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2018, 12:54 AM
porsche996tt_tpe
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default FVD K24 Race turbos in my 996tt

Hi all

Car is 2002 996tt, completely stock, with tip.

Ive recently come across a pair of K24 turbos that were mod by FVD. Did a little research. I understand there'd be some lag, but increased HP on higher rpm. Everything else is stock, what should I pay attention to or be aware of?

If I'm later looking for additional power gain and/or better response in the lower rpm, what's next? ECU tuning or down pipe or.... ? What'd be the "progressive" step? I'm new to all this. Appreciate any advices!

thanks.

Last edited by porsche996tt_tpe; 12-18-2018 at 01:09 AM.
Old 12-18-2018, 10:39 AM
Third-Reef
Three Wheelin'

Received 160 Likes on 114 Posts

Sounds like you are getting a little ahead of yourself
. Turbos are typically and logically not the first step in upgrading. Do some more searching. Look into a tune and exhaust first and then see where the slippery slope takes you.
Old 12-18-2018, 05:43 PM
Kevinmacd
Rennlist Member

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

Tune when the turbos are installed! If you get a tune prior, u will have to do it again to accomodate the turbo upgrade! If you decide not to upgrade the turbos then by all means tune!
Old 12-18-2018, 07:16 PM
kmagnuss
Burning Brakes

Received 16 Likes on 10 Posts

No way I'd throw bigger turbos on a stock exhaust. You'd be miles ahead in performance and money saved with just a tune.
Old 12-19-2018, 01:10 AM
Nzo
Instructor

Received 26 Likes on 15 Posts

Be ready for a clutch upgrade if you're doing turbos.
Old 12-19-2018, 07:19 AM
Oak
Three Wheelin'

Received 22 Likes on 11 Posts

Contact Sam@bydesign for the Cobb custom tuning through the accessport directly through the obdII port. I have the same fvd 26/24 racing turbos, with the Cobb you have multiple programs choices. Great set up.
Old 12-21-2018, 04:15 PM
Tim Wasmer
Race Car