Traqmate mounting and wiring? - Page 2 - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Notices

Traqmate mounting and wiring?

Old 07-20-2018, 06:10 PM
  #16  
docwyte
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
docwyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: denver, co
Posts: 5,276
Default

Apparently the traqmate pulls more amperage than I thought. I had everything hooked up properly, the circuit was too wimpy to handle the traqmate and have the radio turned on. I'll either grab the cigarette lighter circuit or somewhere else that's a 20-30 amp circuit
docwyte is offline  
Old 07-20-2018, 07:35 PM
  #17  
docwyte
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
docwyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: denver, co
Posts: 5,276
Default

Figured out the Traqmate wiring. Talked to Kevin at Ultimate Motorwerks and he recommended using the cigarette lighter circuit as its stand alone and a 20-30 amp circuit.


I remembered that I had some cigarette lighter adapter power cords from my multiple Battery Tenders kicking around that I could use. Bonus is that they're already wired with an inline fuse, score!

So, plug in the adapter....



Wire it into the Traqmate...



Result!



Next up is to see if I have a suction cup windshield mount for my GoPro2. If I do, I can also hook up the video feed for the Traqmate.
docwyte is offline  
Old 07-20-2018, 08:04 PM
  #18  
docwyte
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
docwyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: denver, co
Posts: 5,276
Default

Found the windshield mount and installed it. Data and video for tomorrow!
docwyte is offline  
Old 07-20-2018, 08:08 PM
  #19  
pfbz
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
pfbz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: US
Posts: 2,906
Default

Cool.... Wonder what that little sucker is doing to be pulling so much current!

Actually, since it's the same circuit as the radio, that's probably whats pulling most of the power and the traqmate might just put it over the edge. I've always used that phone circuit for things like my V1, never overloaded the circuit.
pfbz is offline  
Old 07-20-2018, 08:19 PM
  #20  
docwyte
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
docwyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: denver, co
Posts: 5,276
Default

Beats me but it popped the fuse instantly. So whatever it pulled was too much. Cig lighter has way more power on it plus it's a dedicated line *and* I have a fused line between it and the Traqmate now.
docwyte is offline  
Old 07-20-2018, 08:37 PM
  #21  
pfbz
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
pfbz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: US
Posts: 2,906
Default

Keep it shiny side up for your first track outing in the Turbo!

The good/bad part of the 996 Turbo on track days is that with the traction and power, it doesn't really punish you that much for occasional sloppy lines or poor exit speeds, it just hunkers down and goes...
pfbz is offline  


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Traqmate mounting and wiring?


Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: