Notices
996 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: LN Engineering

Starter Motor

 
Old 04-21-2017, 01:01 PM
  #1  
Rick_K
User
Thread Starter
 
Rick_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Everett WA
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Starter Motor

Good Morning,
I left my car outside (2003 Targa C2) and it got pretty cold. I started my P car and the starter motor didn't disengage for a split second making a noise like the engine was driving the motor. When I got to work I turned of the engine and then started again to find the problem had gone but I'm thinking it was due to the fact the car was real cold. I'm looking for thoughts from you guys to head off a problem before its a real problem....Thoughts?
Rick_K is offline  
Old 04-21-2017, 01:28 PM
  #2  
DBJoe996
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
DBJoe996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ormond Beach, FL
Posts: 3,331
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Could be the starter bendix hung up on the flywheel for a split second because it was cold and didn't move back quick enough. There is some grease on the starter shaft that the bendix rides on. Move to a warmer climate!
DBJoe996 is online now  
Old 04-21-2017, 02:03 PM
  #3  
Rick_K
User
Thread Starter
 
Rick_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Everett WA
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Its rare that the car sits outside overnight......You're saying lube the shaft....LOL......Just wondering if maybe the starter motor needed shimming a slight bid.....is that acceptable practice? The starter itself maybe tired 60K miles and it sounds like it could be a little slow....I would have to listen to another car to make a for sure statement.....Thanks
Rick_K is offline  
Old 04-21-2017, 02:10 PM
  #4  
DBJoe996
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
DBJoe996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ormond Beach, FL
Posts: 3,331
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

No shimming. What I was saying was the grease lube on the shaft may have been so cold that it hung up the bendix for a second. At 60K miles, and a noticeable slow start, not a bad idea to consider a new Bosch starter. You can get one off Amazon.
DBJoe996 is online now  
Old 04-21-2017, 02:18 PM
  #5  
Rick_K
User
Thread Starter
 
Rick_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Everett WA
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank You
Rick_K is offline  
Old 04-21-2017, 02:20 PM
  #6  
5CHN3LL
Super User
 
5CHN3LL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SOcialist republic of CALifornia
Posts: 10,079
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Once you replace the starter, you will realize just how bad your starter had gotten.
5CHN3LL is offline  
Old 04-21-2017, 08:55 PM
  #7  
Macster
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 17,903
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Rick_K View Post
Good Morning,
I left my car outside (2003 Targa C2) and it got pretty cold. I started my P car and the starter motor didn't disengage for a split second making a noise like the engine was driving the motor. When I got to work I turned of the engine and then started again to find the problem had gone but I'm thinking it was due to the fact the car was real cold. I'm looking for thoughts from you guys to head off a problem before its a real problem....Thoughts?
Surprisingly more ignition switches than starters act up with these cars.

Could be the ignition switch was slow to move back to the on/run position.

If the starter pinion gear is in fact dragging on the shaft and causing the overrun clutch to well overrun the symptom should appear again.

And it might not.

I had this behavior with my Boxster a while back but the noise went away on its own and has been gone now for a while. Don't know how long it has been gone other than I know it didn't appear this winter so maybe the winter before?
Macster is offline  
Old 04-21-2017, 09:09 PM
  #8  
Ahsai
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Ahsai's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,273
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Either lube it if you don't care about the labor or replace it with a new Bosch one.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B000EPSYG8/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1492819650&sr=1-1&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_FMwebp_QL65&vehicle=2002-2-10-55--7-6-7-3122-31-1-1-534--18-0&dpPl=1&dpID=41lMnYFRuRL&ref=plSrch
Ahsai is offline  
Old 04-22-2017, 07:47 AM
  #9  
Hurdigurdiman
Super User
 
Hurdigurdiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ephrata, PA, USA now. Originally from the UK
Posts: 3,072
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

if your starter motor is behind the alternator as it is on the 996, be very careful removing the alternator. There are small evap lines around there which will break in a heart beat causing you lots of untold DIY work..
Hurdigurdiman is offline  
Old 04-22-2017, 11:16 AM
  #10  
ltusler
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
ltusler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,083
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

And if you replace it, get a real Bosch part. I tried o supposed rebuilt from rock auto. It did not work. They did take it back though.
ltusler is offline  
Old 04-24-2017, 01:54 PM
  #11  
Rick_K
User
Thread Starter
 
Rick_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Everett WA
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank You all

Symptoms happened again this weekend so a new starter is on order.
Rick_K is offline  
Old 04-03-2018, 03:28 AM
  #12  
dan_189
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,705
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Guys sorry to resurrect an old thread, i'm planning on replacing my starter with a new Bosch unit soon.

One question: do the two M10 bolts holding the starter in place require any blue loctite for extra strength or is the standard torque (below) enough?

The factory manual makes no reference to using locktite but it does in other places so i'm assuming its not required but I did want to check.

dan_189 is offline  
Old 04-03-2018, 09:06 AM
  #13  
DBJoe996
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
DBJoe996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ormond Beach, FL
Posts: 3,331
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I've replaced the starter motor several times. No loctite needed or used. Standard torque is enough (good luck getting a torque wrench in there, or even getting an accurate torque with so many extensions and swivels needed to tighten the M10 bolts). With so much stuff removed to replace the starter, make sure on backing out of the job you check and double check the vacuum lines and connections, particularly the resonance flap vacuum line. You don't want to have to "go back in" to run down a vacuum leak or intake system leak.
DBJoe996 is online now  
Old 04-03-2018, 09:22 AM
  #14  
dan_189
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,705
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DBJoe996 View Post
I've replaced the starter motor several times. No loctite needed or used. Standard torque is enough (good luck getting a torque wrench in there, or even getting an accurate torque with so many extensions and swivels needed to tighten the M10 bolts). With so much stuff removed to replace the starter, make sure on backing out of the job you check and double check the vacuum lines and connections, particularly the resonance flap vacuum line. You don't want to have to "go back in" to run down a vacuum leak or intake system leak.
Thanks Joe,

​​​​​Got this done on a fellow Australian forum members '99 on the weekend. We used one really long extension and were able to get the torque wrench on but we did have the alternator removed to replace the starter cable so that helped.

We actually did break some lines because they were so brittle, replaced them and it was fixed... Or so we thought. The throttle cable was slightly jammed causing a high idle which we thought was the vacuum lines! Pulled it all apart put it all back together only to discover it was the cable on the TB! All ended well so no problems
​​​​​​
dan_189 is offline  
Old 04-05-2018, 12:35 AM
  #15  
dan_189
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,705
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Gents, what's the best way to remove the lower starter bolt without removing the alternator?

I'm fairly comfortable with the R&R procedure but when we did this on the weekend we had the alternator removed which provided clear access to the lower starter bolt. I'm not too keen on removing the alternator if I don't have to.

What ways have people gotten to the second bolt?
​​​​​​
dan_189 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Starter Motor


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: