996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

996 prices are on the rise.

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2017, 12:03 AM
Vancouver996
Rennlist Member

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

Since prices aren't going up in the USA according to most of you but they are elsewhere the us might be a good place for export porsches in the next few year , not quite like the 80's was , when I could buy 911 Sc and make 30-40 percent after landing , but low mile gen 2 c2 manuals and c4S might be worth while
Old 03-16-2017, 02:15 AM
808Bill
Rennlist Member

Received 805 Likes on 543 Posts

Oh, they're going up alright.
https://www.cargurus.com/Cars/invent...ting=143102681..

https://www.cargurus.com/Cars/invent...ting=143102681
Old 03-16-2017, 02:46 AM
TonyTwoBags
Three Wheelin'

Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts

on the market for 314 days, eeek. As a former realtor I can tell that the seller feels his 911 is "special".
Old 03-16-2017, 03:07 AM
johnireland
Rennlist Member

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts

Those are crack pipe asking prices and paying that would be only for suckers. The entire auto industry is floating on a finance bubble. New car dealers are offering 60 and 72 month loans at 0% interest in an effort to keep the stock moving. Leasing has replaced purchasing with the returns after 2 or 3 years being shuffled off to the auction lots.

The 996 is an excellent car but with very real limits and compromises in the design. Enjoy it for what it is and throw aside those dreams of it every becoming worth more than you can buy them for today.

I've been offered an 06 997 S with 90k miles at a price in the mid twenties. 996s in Los Angles are going asking for ten thousand less.

Find a nice 996 for under 17k and drive it for 5 years and maybe even longer...but don't imagine it will ever be worth more than you paid for it.
Their low price is part of what makes them such good cars...for the money.

Old 03-16-2017, 03:39 AM
MRWW
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by sugarwood