IMS Tensioner Paddle failing?

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2016, 01:36 PM
ShockMark
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default IMS Tensioner Paddle failing?

Hello all!
I'm a newbie here, and in much need of opinions, suggestions, and/or advice.

I have a 2001 Porsche 911 Carrera. It is a tiptronic and has 101,200 miles on it. I've owned it for just over a year. I recently discovered an oil leak and it was coming from the rear main seal area. Took it to the local independent Porsche shop who have an amazing reputation, to have them fix the rear main seal, replace the IMS bearing, etc.

They first call me to let me know the oil looked good and there was nothing in the oil filter. Great news. But a little later they call to tell me they found bits of plastic in the sump pump. They said they have seen this before, its the IMS Tensioner Paddle and although its only a $20 part they can't do the IMS retrofit and that my engine is done. Its only a matter of time before it fails. They reinstalled the sump pump, put a new filter on and filled it with oil and said there is nothing they can do that will be worth it compared to the price of the car, and I should sell it immediately.

Well, morally and ethically I can't sell my car knowing this and let it end up being someone else's issue that they didn't sign up for. So that isn't an option. So I started researching and I only found a three threads containing pictures with people finding plastic in their sump pumps. All three are a little different and mine is different to all three (I think).

Here are the threads:
https://rennlist.com/forums/996-forum/845488-what-i-found-in-my-oil-pan-yesterday.html

https://rennlist.com/forums/996-forum/722321-please-help-identify-bits-found-in-oil-filter.html

I don't know if its ok to post threads from other websites, so if not then I apologize. Let me know and I will remove it.

http://www.6speedonline.com/forums/996/224085-plastic-debris-oil-sump.html: