996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

P300 Misfire...P301/P302/P303

Old 05-26-2015, 07:53 PM
Petersa9
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default P300 Misfire...P301/P302/P303

Alright, so I have a MY03 C4S 54k miles. Got these CEL for misfire. Spark plugs were only 10k old, but went ahead and replaced all coil packs and spark plugs. Old coil packs were in rough shape. Cracked and some rusty....

Anyways, I cleared all CEL and everything looked good, until this afternoon when the car threw the same CEL. Only 25 miles after replacement.

Coil packs and plugs are brand new....what are the chances that 3 coil packs failed on the same cylinder...not likely. I have seen posts saying it could be a bad MAF, scored cylinder walls, bad intake lifter, gremlins....

What would you recommend here? Take it to a shop to diagnose or is there anything else I can check? For example run a voltage test on the MAF if possible?

Any advice would be great, I'm no expert here.
Old 05-26-2015, 08:21 PM
Petersa9
Rennlist Member

finally found similar post: https://rennlist.com/forums/997-foru...s-4-5-6-a.html

No answer to his specific issue....
Old 05-27-2015, 02:24 AM
Macster
Race Director

Received 246 Likes on 217 Posts

Originally Posted by Petersa9
Alright, so I have a MY03 C4S 54k miles. Got these CEL for misfire. Spark plugs were only 10k old, but went ahead and replaced all coil packs and spark plugs. Old coil packs were in rough shape. Cracked and some rusty....

Anyways, I cleared all CEL and everything looked good, until this afternoon when the car threw the same CEL. Only 25 miles after replacement.

Coil packs and plugs are brand new....what are the chances that 3 coil packs failed on the same cylinder...not likely. I have seen posts saying it could be a bad MAF, scored cylinder walls, bad intake lifter, gremlins....

What would you recommend here? Take it to a shop to diagnose or is there anything else I can check? For example run a voltage test on the MAF if possible?