HELP! Window/regulator problem

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2012, 06:48 PM
Likeminds
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Red face HELP! Window/regulator problem

Hi All,

I'm a newbie on Rennslist but a long time Porsche owner... I currently own a 2000 911 C2 Cab and a 99 Boxster. Love them both.

The passenger window in the Cabriolet started malfunctioning about 2 weeks ago. Classic failing regulator symptoms -- not retracting sufficiently when lifting the outer door handle, and a loud rattling, scratching noise when operating the window. Been there. Seen that. Regulator going bad, but still operating well enough to open and close the window. However, what I hadn't seen before was the window so out of position, that there was about a 2mm gap between the inner surface of the glass and the inner felt window seal. When raising the window the glass was putting so much pressure on the outer rubber seal that the motor was slowing and when retracting the rubber edge of the outer seal was actually being folded over and forced downward.

I figured the regulator was totally whacked so I bought a new URO Parts regulator and installed it. This fixed the rattling and scratching noise, but the window is still displaced about 2mm from the inner felt seal and rubbing against and folding over the outer rubber seal when retracting. I can't for the life of me see any way to adjust this. All the adjustments seem to be related to fore/aft positioning, tilt, and overall height of the window vs. the upper seal.

Is it possible that when the old regulator was failing that it somehow altered the mounting geometry. Could it be the after market URO Parts regulator? I've never used their parts before but it was $100 cheaper and they seem to have a pretty good reputation.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks - Steve

2000 911 Cabriolet
1999 Boxster
65 356C (unfortunately deceased)
Old 07-18-2012, 07:04 PM
Dennis C
Rocky Mountain High
Rennlist Member