Sponsored by:

How to drive a Porsche?

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2012, 09:33 PM
Mark Rindner
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to drive a Porsche?

Hey guys and gals. I can hear the groans from the oldies, but I'm new to Porsche ownership and I'm hoping to learn from some of you who've been down the road for a while in a 911. I've got 110k miles on the clock in my 02 6-speed. I just got a new clutch and upgraded some un-mentionable parts that are also back there. Now I'm ready to do some serious miles as a DD. I've heard people say "drive it like you stole it" and I assume this is to keep the engine oiled, the innards hot and gunk-free, etc. But my sensibility tells me to go a little easy on a 100lk powertrain. High revs are great fun but it seems like they might over-stress an older engine. How well-engineered are these cars? Am I prematurely aging this engine by reving to 5-6000 on a regular basis? I find that 4000+ is the sweet spot and like to drive in 3rd and 4th around town at this level. I'm by nature a lead foot and can't stand people who have hot cars and drive them slow. But I want to keep this car for a long time and don't want to create problems by being too hard on it. I've searched for threads but can't get a clear focus on this subject. Anyone out there with experience, please share your knowledge.
Old 03-15-2012, 09:40 PM
uberskier
Pro

Received 10 Likes on 1 Post

"drive it like you stole it"
+1 I'm still having fun 4 years after I got it.
Old 03-15-2012, 09:46 PM
Mark Rindner
Advanced

Originally Posted by uberskier
"drive it like you stole it"
+1 I'm still having fun 4 years after I got it.
Thanks for your response. Just curious...How many miles on your car and how many have you put on since you got it?
Old 03-15-2012, 10:08 PM
uberskier
Pro

Received 10 Likes on 1 Post

Purchased it: 3/21/08 with 33,412 (in Kentucky - I live in NY)
Today (3/15/12) just hit: 52,000

18,588 miles since purchase
12.78 miles/day avg.