996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

Slow to turn over when warmed up

Old 07-29-2011, 10:16 AM
mattpatin
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Slow to turn over when warmed up

I'm new to rennlist. It looks like a very informative site. My 1999 996 is slow to turn over after I drive it a bit. It starts well in the morning, but then will start sluggish if I drive it for just 30 minutes. It's not the battery. Anyone had this problem? It seems weird that it's sluggish when the engine is warmed up. Any ideas as to what it is? My only thought is that it's the starter. Thanks. Matt
Old 07-29-2011, 10:24 AM
Shark Attack
Rennlist Member

Received 64 Likes on 34 Posts

Miles/ year would be of help.

Mine does this. I blame the starter at 135,000 mine is prolly tired.
But I have heard they go bad at any given time. Mine always sounds kinda lazy actually. But when the car is warm it is a tad slower to turn the car over.
Old 07-29-2011, 01:56 PM
dennis hiip
Rennlist Member

I had this problem and completely checked out the electrical system. The weak link was the battery so I replaced it. Problem greatly improved but then after a period of time the starter again dragged intermittently when warm. I replaced the starter. That was the problem.
Old 07-29-2011, 02:13 PM
joelpirela
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The problem is the positive cable that goes from the middle of the transmission to the starter/alternator. An over-crimped connection from the factory makes the cable transfer less electricity once it gets hot from the engine bay. I'm testing now to replace my cable with the 997 version to see if I can get rid of the slow start. My alternator/starter/battery are new and the problem still persist. You will get better start once they replace the starter, because the new/fresh connection to the cable, but it will degrade with time again.

joel
Old 07-29-2011, 02:23 PM
TRT41
Burning Brakes

Received 59 Likes on 36 Posts

Originally Posted by joelpirela