Sponsored by:

Deer Hit --> Tire Allignment??

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2007, 01:33 PM
Troy R
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Deer Hit --> Tire Allignment??

Hi fellow rennlisters. Some may recall a post a month ago about a deer I hit and how I was fortunate to not have any damage. Well, as it turns out I do have some. There was a crack in the clear coat on the bumber, and my left front headlight was pushed into the fender about 3/8". Didn't notice it until I had washed the car one day. The headlight/bracket is actually broke on the back end.

On top of this I notice that when I get the car around 50mph, it has a hell of a shudder. Faster or slower, it goes away. Does anyone have any thoughts on whether this could be related to hitting the deer? The insurance company is saying no way is it possible, but I've never hit a curb or rock or decent size pot hole and I really don't remember this happening before hand. I'm not an expert, or really even knowledgeable on the laws of physics, forces, auto's or engineering, and I know some of you are. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!
Old 02-13-2007, 01:55 PM
rbjbbb
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Did you make any evasive maneuvers. Does not seem like that slight impact would have thrown the alignment out. Unless the front tire took some of it vs. your front end. That would be my angle with the ins. agency.
ps. I was having shudders on mine (60 to 65 mph) and just had the alignment and road force bal done this w/e, $370 later - sweet and smooth.

RB
Old 02-13-2007, 02:06 PM
Troy R
Racer

I was swerving to the right pretty hard when I hit the deer. Probably hit around 25-30mph. The brunt of the force was taken by the headlight, which is secured to the car via bracket into what??? Any way that force traveled down and affected the suspension?
Old 02-13-2007, 02:51 PM
Macster
Race Director

Received 253 Likes on 223 Posts
Default Never hit a deer with my Boxster but hit some road debris...