Notices
996 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: LN Engineering

Radio Questions

 
Old 07-10-2019, 09:42 PM
  #1  
GarrettSR5
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Radio Questions

Trying to go back to a stock head unit. Removed the crappy Alpine and put a CDR220 there. Works great!
My only questions are:
Should it be really difficult to slide back into the dash? I can get it 85% in but it still sticking out an inch or so. I don't want to force it

What is this little spade connector? Looks like it's original. But I don't see anywhere to plug it in on the CDR220. For what it's worth, it's a 99 C2 with out the physical equilizer below the radio

thanks!
G
GarrettSR5 is offline  
Old 07-11-2019, 03:33 AM
  #2  
Migliore
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I just went back to a stock audio setup last weekend. My bezel was butchered and they cut some of the harness too.

It was a very tight fit on mine too.

I had my HVAC unit out to have a better look at what i was up against. Once out i could see that it was just the rear support bracket that was holding up the deck from sliding that last bit home. Just work it in with cautious forcefulness.

That wire with the spade connector attaches to the left side of the bezel. I believe its for the security system.

Good luck
Migliore is offline  
Old 07-11-2019, 10:14 AM
  #3  
NuttyProfessor
User
 
NuttyProfessor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 1,261
Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by GarrettSR5 View Post
Trying to go back to a stock head unit. Removed the crappy Alpine and put a CDR220 there. Works great!
My only questions are:
Should it be really difficult to slide back into the dash? I can get it 85% in but it still sticking out an inch or so. I don't want to force it

What is this little spade connector? Looks like it's original. But I don't see anywhere to plug it in on the CDR220. For what it's worth, it's a 99 C2 with out the physical equilizer below the radio

thanks!
G

The answer to your question is in the picture. Notice the silver tray? That's the mount adapter for the Alpine. Remove it and try inserting the CDR-220 again.
NuttyProfessor is offline  
The following users liked this post:
Gingerman (07-11-2019)
Old 07-11-2019, 04:58 PM
  #4  
GarrettSR5
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Ah! Ok thanks, I'll try that tonight
GarrettSR5 is offline  
Old 07-11-2019, 05:40 PM
  #5  
cds72911
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
cds72911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, VT USA
Posts: 1,908
Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

And the wire harnesses can get in the way sometimes too. Stick with it. You'll get it.
cds72911 is offline  
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: