996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

Spring start up

Old 04-16-2019, 01:45 PM
Fracture
Rennlist Member

Received 251 Likes on 173 Posts
Default Spring start up

any viable reason to pull the relay for the fuel pump and generate some oil pressure
before starting ?

simple piece of mind ?

car has sat since November, normally I've been able to get the vehicle out a couple of times a month during winter
this year, not at all

I'm certain we had our last snow on Sunday, today looks good for a shakedown
Old 04-16-2019, 01:51 PM
steam_mill
Burning Brakes

Received 278 Likes on 157 Posts

This is my first year with the 996. I too was worried about this. I put the key in, and it started immediately. No smoke surprisingly.
Old 04-16-2019, 02:02 PM
DBJoe996
Rennlist Member

Received 1,083 Likes on 696 Posts

If I recall correctly Jake has mentioned a startup procedure. Start and as soon as the engine fires, shut it off. Do 5 times in a row and on the fifth one, run it and drive it.
Old 04-16-2019, 02:33 PM
Fracture
Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by DBJoe996
If I recall correctly Jake has mentioned a startup procedure. Start and as soon as the engine fires, shut it off. Do 5 times in a row and on the fifth one, run it and drive it.
I remembered this as I was creating the opening post

normally I wouldn't even give this a second thought, but 6 months of just sitting made me a bit hesitant
Old 04-17-2019, 10:37 AM
Mike Mullins
Rennlist Member

Received 283 Likes on 157 Posts

Lot of respect for Jake, but I like your thoughts better, get some pressure first, then come with the fire.

Keith Black had this procedure for all his Fueler motor customers. Crank the engine over until pressure builds then flip the magneto on.

He and Ed Pink built more engines for big money than anyone I can remember. Lingenfelter always has instructions on their motor kits on priming the pump before lighting it off first time.

Did you change it before putting it away ?
Old 04-17-2019, 10:49 AM