Seeking expert advice, found RTV silicone in oil filter

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2018, 01:26 AM
Boris1
Instructor

Received 17 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Seeking expert advice, found RTV silicone in oil filter

Hello,
I am a new owner of a 2002 C4S and just did an oil change for the first time under my ownership. When I removed an oil filter I found a rectangular piece of RTV silicone (see picture). It is about 1.5 inch x 0.5 inch in size. I am guessing that this is the work of a sloppy mechanic and I am glad that the filter caught it instead of some small oil passage in the engine, but I was just curious if someone can identify where this silicone may have originated in the engine and what repair could have been done recently to produce this.
Old 06-24-2018, 12:24 PM
808Bill
Rennlist Member

Received 805 Likes on 543 Posts

I'm no expert, but I'd drop the sump, check the screen and get it all cleaned out before you have serious problems.
Old 06-24-2018, 12:35 PM
JohnCA58
Rennlist Member

Received 333 Likes on 208 Posts

Probably won.t find anything on the oil sump pick up tube, I suspect that the tech used silicone instead of a gasket or maybe with the gasket on the oil pump primary housing, now that alone would have me pulling the oil pan to check what else he or she could have over silicone on that engine.
Old 06-24-2018, 08:20 PM
Mike Murphy
Rennlist Member

Received 1,578 Likes on 985 Posts

Wow, I have never seen anything like that [intact] in an oil filter. It couldn’t have been sucked up and retained its shape, so it must have possibly fell into the filter when the filter was put back or else I cannot imagine what oil passages would have allowed that to pass and from where it could have originated.
Old 06-24-2018, 09:04 PM
Boris1
Instructor