Sponsored by:

L/W flywheel Ugh!!

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2006, 03:57 AM
EddieM
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default L/W flywheel Ugh!!

Hello all, I have recently purchased a 97 993tt and am loving it - except for the light weight flywheel. Using the car as a daily driver I find the driving characteristics tiring and as I don't intend to track the car a dual mass is, for me, the way to go.
Can anyone suggest where I can get the dual mass flywheel - short of paying an arm and leg for the orginal item. Appreciate any comments.

Eddie
Melbourne, Australia
Old 12-11-2006, 05:10 AM
Red9
Racer

I can probably help.
Old 12-11-2006, 06:03 AM
Felix
Addict
Rennlist Lifetime Member

Received 23 Likes on 17 Posts

What are the driving characteristics you don't like?
Old 12-11-2006, 08:48 AM
EddieM
Track Day

Felix, being less than an ace drver I have been known to stall it at the lights--much to the amusment of surrounding motorists, not to mention the alarm of my wife.

Red9 , would be very happy to hear from you, what do you suggest?
Old 12-11-2006, 08:57 AM
Felix
Addict
Rennlist Lifetime Member

Received 23 Likes on 17 Posts

Any idea what clutch disk is fitted with the LWF? If it's a "normal" non-racing clutch it should be possible to get used to the lower interia of the LWF when starting off. But a racing clutch that's "on" or "off" will make stop and go driving a challenge, particularly if it's hilly.
Old 12-11-2006, 10:18 AM
bb993tt
Three Wheelin'

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Eddie,

Have you also experienced the other problem I understand can exist with these - when the engine dies when you're coming to a stop? As I understand it this is caused by the engine dropping revs so quickly that the idle valve does not have time to catch the drop and take over control.
Old 12-11-2006, 11:16 AM
Woodster
Drifting

Eddie,

Is the engagement point of the clutch (as you let it out/up) short?
that is why others have asked what clutch you have (and you may not know).