Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hi from a newbie and a dumb question.

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2004, 06:23 AM
OnlyAirCooling
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hi from a newbie and a dumb question.

Hi to all!

Newbie in this forum, I write from Rome, Italy.

Own a 993 TT (1996) upgraded by Porsche from 408 to 450 HP (aftermarket, original complete kit).

Before this gorgeus piece of art, I had some other sport cars (Ferrari F348 and F355, Lambo Diablo, 964 cabrio, 993 285 HP cabrio...)

For months (...years!) I searched on the net a place like this one! like everybody I have some experiences to share, and some questions from time to time.

After have read some threads I definitely think that it is the best place to share experiences (concerning Porsche world) ever found by me.

Just to start, a very dumb question: the computer lamp behind the central gauge (just the computer bulb, the gauge itself has no problem) does not work anymore, and the digits are barely visible.

Anyone knows how to replace the lamp(s)? a friend of mine has given me a bunch of lamps, but he does not know how to replace them. Have I to dismount the gauge? in this case, what have I to do? Is it possible to stick the hand behind the gauge, and in this case, how do I recognize the bulb socket?

I've no time to leave the car to Porsche (150 miles away...!) for some days, just to replace a 0.5 $ bulb...

thank you in advance!

regards
Romano
Old 04-15-2004, 09:04 AM
Ran
Rennlist Member

Default Welcome

I have no direct or indirect experience in the matter but I recall reading about the issue a couple of times. While the link below suggests that there has been atleast one case of success in bulb replacement without removal of the steering wheel, most cases seem to suggest that there is some removal involved to access the bulb receptacle.
Link (cut and paste if it is not clickable):- https://rennlist.com/forums/showthre...ht=dim+display