Sponsored by:

993 Turbo build, DIY, driven

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2019, 09:16 AM
JEllis
Rennlist Member

Received 51 Likes on 38 Posts

Stone Guard Replacement

Next up I replaced the stone guards. I am not sure if these are the originals but they looked the part due to the amount of scratches and stone chips.

I studied up on this site and others about the best way to tackle this project. I had intended to experiment with all the different options but I did not have a steamer at home so I could not test out that method. Instead I used a combination of a heat gun, Goo Gone, 3M Adhesive Remover, 3M adhesive remover rubber wheel, and lots of frustration.

I will try to describe what I think works best.

I started on the passenger side using the heat gun to get the area nice and warm but not hot and then the plastic razor blade to peel up the edges. Then my fingers to pull the material up.

On my polar silver the material is dyed/painted to sort of match from the factory, which it doest after 22-23 years.

Here you can see I have started from the top, this is where you want to start but I will get to that later. You will also see that the backing adhesive has started to separate from the film as well. I expected this but this is not ideal and I will get to that later as well.

After some experimenting I quickly realized that too much heat causes the old material to break down and eventually come apart in tiny pieces. I experimented on the bottom with using the minimum amount of heat to get the material to room temperature and I was much more successful.

I conjectured that I had used minimum heat and started from the top this way, I would have had much better results. So I tried it on the drivers side.