993 Forum 1995-1998

Engine Removal

Old 07-14-2015, 06:27 AM
Alan993S
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Question Engine Removal

Hi there,

i have an oil leak in the number 1 cylinder which is dripping on to the exhaust. Getting this fixed plus undertaking some other maintenance while the engine is out is going to be expensive - especially here in Australia. So was thinking of doing this myself, with the helping hand of my brother-in-law who is a tech (not a Porsche one unfortunately). I have dropped six other engines in my previous life, but consider myself a complete novice. Have looked at a few threads but most deal with rebuilds. I don't want to do too much, but with engine out appreciate the convenience of the opportunity.

Just wanted to ask what else, as a minimum, or is recommended that I should get sorted while the engine was out.

Car is in a relatively good state with no other issues at all and has 55,000 miles on the clock. Marriage is strong :-)

Thanks in advance.
Alan
Old 07-14-2015, 07:12 AM
geolab
Rennlist Member

Received 173 Likes on 119 Posts

Since I lost my carrera S, I have a totally new perspective on enjoying 993's.
I had two engines, and both had oil leaks on cylinder 1.
I tried this on one engine, with good results, but I do not have data on mileage or time.
Engine stays in car.
I removed rear bumper, mufflers, engine protections and cam covers
I then tightened each cylinder bolt, starting from cylinder 3 from left to right. In a X style...so, bottom left then upper right, then top left and then lower right.
Same for cylinder two, and last , cylinder 1.

On cylinder 3 , I started with bottom left to be able to introduce an angular (degrees) torque wrench, just for the feel.
In my case, I tightened a few degrees the bolts on cylinder 3
cylinder two was really tight, and I tightened more on cylinder 1. Especially the RIGHT bolts nearer to the end of the car, loosened more than cyl 3