Notices
993 Forum 1995-1998

:::Coping with depression::: 993

Old 09-11-2014, 10:46 AM
gaby1088
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default :::Coping with depression::: 993

As some of you know, I'm a med student out of the country. I only get 10 days of vacation every 4 months.. then I will be moving to Maine/Chicago/NYC for my final 2 years of med school (which is not ideal for a 993 for winter.) During my last break last week, I had to sell the car. It was such a dream to drive and I hated driving the car over to a seller and would almost turn back and just cancel the sale.. But between insurance (which was 1400 every 6 months), and having the car just sitting in the garage, it wasn't financially practical to have it. It had a 119,000 miles, fully loaded with every option from Porsche. I was the 3rd owner and the car was shipped to Florida from California where I purchased it during a trip there.

Its been tough, I know I can't drive that beast anymore, in amazing florida weather with the top down. I fixed all the little things, seals, full AC system etc. I made a small profit off of it but that doesn't matter. Im sad that i won't be able to go home during my December break and go through those 6 speeds. The smoothness of the ride under normal driving, and how it magically transformed into a driving beast when I wanted it to push it.

I found myself looking for other 993s during class, and reminiscing through the pictures and the great times I had with the car for the past 4 years. Its truly the ultimate driving machine (sorry BMW, my M3 never came close to the emotional feelings i had driving the 993)