Notices
993 Forum 1995-1998

Check Out My Road Force Balance...Discuss

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2014, 11:29 AM
Van1
Drifting

Received 64 Likes on 47 Posts

Bright side is the weight is in a place where you'll never see it when mounted on the car. In some respects, I think that is much better than seeing a ribbon of stick on weights through the spokes on a freshly painted wheel.
Old 02-01-2014, 01:58 PM
JasonAndreas
Technical Guru
Rennlist Member

Received 112 Likes on 90 Posts

Call Corghi USA @ 1-800-260-0968 and ask them for their nearest customer (they can search by zipcode) with an Artiglio Master. You won't have to worry about your rims get mauled and if the shop spent the money for one of those, chances are they will know how to balance and weight your rims properly.
Old 02-01-2014, 03:26 PM
badabing
Three Wheelin'

Received 84 Likes on 66 Posts

I have some experience in this area.

If I were going to upset about anything it would be that the tires are only statically balanced (1 plane) instead of dynamic (2 planes).

Static balance only addresses the "up-down" imbalance that usually causes vibration complaints while dynamic address both the "up - down" and "side to side" imbalance which usually leads to complaints of a"shimmy"

A dynamic balance requires weight placement on the inner and out planes (the front and back of the wheel.)

The closer you can get to the edge of the wheel (rim lip) the less weight is required to correct the imbalance.

The road force drum serves to replicate loaded conditions and more importantly measures runout from either a bent wheel, out of round tire or both. This information is critical because you can experience a ride disturbance from a perfectly balanced, yet not physically true tire wheel assembly.

Now the tech may have purposely done a static balance in response to restrictions placed by the client regarding wheel weight placement.