Notices
993 Forum 1995-1998

Looking to get a 993... lots of questions...

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2010, 06:35 AM
DaveE30
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking to get a 993... lots of questions...

New to this forum here, I've been told that this is the place to go for questions on the 993.

I've wanted a 993 for the past 3 years, and finally have decided that I likely will buy one in the next 6 months or so. But I'm new to Porsches, and therefore have lots of questions. I'll probably buy the "Essential Companion" book before I dive in, but would love to see an online guide. What are some things to look for, as in, what are major repairs and services that must be examined?

Briefly, is the C2 or C4 (non-S) model generally more desireable? I live in SoCal, where there's no snow and it doesn't rain much. Besides, I won't be driving this car in bad weather, so 4WD isn't a priority. How's the handling different on dry roads? I remember reading something about snap oversteer in RWD models and thought it referred to the 993... did I read that right?
Old 03-24-2010, 08:01 AM
tommyg
Racer

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

This may be of help: 101606 993 Inspection Tips.doc Good luck!
Old 03-24-2010, 08:36 AM
Deadeye
Rennlist Member

Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts

Dave, I don't have experience w/ the C4, but my C2 is very well planted in dry conditions. If you plan on any track time, stick w/ RWD.
Old 03-24-2010, 08:40 AM
Falcondrivr
Race Car

Received 70 Likes on 36 Posts

I have very limited time in a C4, so I may be way off. But, I have read, and my experience was that the C4 steering feels a little less "connected" to the road than the C2, which is amazing. i really didn't notice any handling differences in normal street driving. if it were me, I'd get the best car I could find/afford regardless of weather it was a C2 or C4.