Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2009, 03:13 PM
pp000830
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Received 1,536 Likes on 1,085 Posts
Smile Airbag light fix experience.

Dear Rennlist Members:
The airbag is a dangerous explosive device so if you act on information in my experiences below do at your own risk. I am not a professional mechanic.
If you have any safety concerns let the dealer service your airbag system.

Here are my notes as to how I fixed the problem. I hope other members find it insightful:
Diagnosis:
• Unable to access airbag module in Duramentric OBDC II software under Model 993. Fault listed as module failure under 993. Potentially very costly misinformation.
• Able to read airbag module under 964 Vehicle in Durametric software.
• Description of code numbers in Durametric software seemed to be in error. Code numbers seemed to make sense when I looked up their descriptions in the diagnosis section of the Porsche shop manual.
• Equipment readout for my car in Durametric:
B02 AIRBAG 993 618 217 00 T1T5C08AR2

Symptom:
Warning lamp lights at start-up, goes out after a while – indicates non-crash system fault from 993 shop manual diagnostic section.
Actions taken:
• Disconnected battery negative terminal!! Remembering that I was servicing the detonator on an explosive device!
• Clock removed and all solder joints on its PC board re soldered.
There were three solder points that lead to the clock motor that need to be unsoldered for the circuit board to release from the clock housing.
• Control Module under dash in center of car orange in color has a release lever on the back of the connector that you flip up to release the plug. A very delicate connector, very little force was needed to unplug the module.
• Clock and control module connections cleaned with electrical contact cleaner spray
• Verified all warning light bulbs in clock were good with ohm meter and bent the bulb contact tabs out slightly to ensure good electrical contact to sockets.