993 Forum 1995-1998

1400 miles, 3 days, 2 drivers, 0 tickets, 1 C2

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2008, 04:29 AM
mcpiaseczny
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1400 miles, 3 days, 2 drivers, 0 tickets, 1 C2

What an upgrade! As of this November I had been driving a 964 C4 cab for a four years. It was an fun car for summer touring and suprisingly practical year round with the AWD. But to me it was missing something... Was the AWD too intrusive? Was the open top too unnerving at speed? Was it the ineligibility for track events? The more I drove it the more I realized that I needed a coupe, and that despite having owned only AWD cars since, well, ever, I needed to shed the security blanket and get a C2. Along the way to doing so I learned three important things...

After convincing my wife, CJ, that her favorite car needed to go (yes, she drove the 964 as much as I did), and after taking a bit of a raking on the actual sale of that car, the hunt for a replacement began in earnest. My good friend Dennis was my dedicated personal shopper and he sent me literally dozens of cars to look at, and these were just the ones that made it through his first screening. But each either didn't fit the budget or was missing the necessary ingredients. We were looking for either a good 993 C2 or a great 964. There aren't that many great 964s kicking around, and Dennis only has eyes for the 993 so our hunt eventually narrowed to OBDI 993s. After a few months of looking (daily), it was getting tiresome. I thought I'd end up a Porscheless old man scouring Craigslist endlessly looking for "the one".