Sponsored by:

How's Tiptronic on the 993?

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2005, 04:06 PM
HooliganX
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How's Tiptronic on the 993?

After years of driving "other" cars, my father is looking to get back into a P-car finally! He has a commute and is thinking of a Tip because of that.

I found a beautiful white 1997 C2S with Tip for sale locally. However I have had no experience with Tip transmissions at all.

For those who have a 993 with Tip, what are your impressions? He will be using it for daily driving and I hope to get him out to the occasional DE.

I'm mostly interested in your thoughts on the reliability. I know the 993 are mostly bulletproof otherwise. I used to have a '97 C4S and it was problem free.

Thanks in advance!
Old 04-29-2005, 04:14 PM
pjc
Burning Brakes

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Porsche's Tiptronic system is considered almost bullet proof. Although only 4 speed, and the change can be a bit notchy they don't seem to go wrong.

PJC
Old 04-29-2005, 04:21 PM
Phil
Phlat Black Guru
Rennlist
Lifetime Member
- Times 2

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by HooliganX
After years of driving "other" cars, my father is looking to get back into a P-car finally! He has a commute and is thinking of a Tip because of that.

I found a beautiful white 1997 C2S with Tip for sale locally. However I have had no experience with Tip transmissions at all.

For those who have a 993 with Tip, what are your impressions? He will be using it for daily driving and I hope to get him out to the occasional DE.

I'm mostly interested in your thoughts on the reliability. I know the 993 are mostly bulletproof otherwise. I used to have a '97 C4S and it was problem free.

Thanks in advance!
I did a search for you
https://rennlist.com/forums/993-forum/199048-tip-poll-tiptronic-owners-only-please.html
Old 04-29-2005, 04:26 PM
993-CT
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts