Nervous steering

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2004, 12:09 PM
Jagbuff
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Nervous steering

Hi:

I have a question regarding steering feel on my 97 Cab. I am new to the car can still getting use to the steering but have a couple of questions for the list.

The steering feels very nervous and not confidence inspiring. The car has no history of damage and has less than 25K miles. All the suspension parts check out on inspection- there is no wear.

Here are the symptoms:
The car tramlines quite a bit on uneven surfaces and darts this is accentuated with speed - it is quite sensitive to wind changes (that in itself is not abnormal allthough makes for continuous steering adjustment which doesn't sound right for an Autobahn burner)

Under hard acceleration it will drift to the left and when I back off the throttle it will drift to the right.

It drives straight under slower acceleration and under braking the car tracks absolutely straight. It does not wander or feel weird when going though large depressions on the road.

I checked the tire pressures - one of the rear tires was at 25psi - and the darting got a little better but still far from a planted feel.

The PO very recently replaced one of the rear tires b/c a puncture. This would mean there is 7K miles between the two. As that significant that it would cause the change of direction under acceleration and the nervous feel.

Is an alignment in order?
TIA
Franck
Old 06-16-2004, 12:28 PM
Joe L
Instructor

Hey Franck-