Notices
993 Forum 1995-1998

New California exhaust rules, Fister 3 should we be worried?

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2019, 01:26 AM
jskylarwilson
Rennlist Member

Received 59 Likes on 34 Posts

Originally Posted by mpruden
etc...

Why does this new CA law pose a greater danger to our modified exhausts than these existing laws? What's new with this law (obviously, I'm not a lawyer) that would impact us CA residents more than WA, NC, KY, OK, or other states with the same law?
Because CA is making it a non-correctable offense, and it's a $1k fine, up to the officer's discretion. Other states allow you to correct it.

Last edited by jskylarwilson; 01-15-2019 at 03:47 PM.
Old 01-09-2019, 01:29 PM
fullbooker
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I've lived my whole life, 66 years, in California. Seen lots of weird things regarding vehicle law enforcement. There will certainly be a few CHP or local cops who feel it is their responsibility to enforce this obscure noise law as it applies to our cars, and to other vehicles. I can not remember the last time I heard of a Porsche being cited for being too loud. Lots more motorcycles, Subees, muscle cars, etc that attract more attention for their noise levels. I do not see this as a big deal. Kinda like the window tinting, bicycle helmets for minors, front license plates (yes, I did get a fix-it ticket for no front license plate), etc.
I have Fister I's, and am not concerned about this noise level issue.
Old 01-11-2019, 02:59 PM
Matteoagu
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by fullbooker