Notices
993 Forum 1995-1998

Focal speakers and audio system upgrade

Old 05-25-2018, 02:53 AM
palladio
Rennlist Member

Received 27 Likes on 13 Posts
Default Focal speakers and audio system upgrade

I bought my current 993 with an aftermarket stereo already installed with Polk speakers. I didn't like the sound of them, the highs from the tweeters were especially fatiguing and the lower bass register was non-existent. I decided to look for 2-way 6.5" speaker systems that would fit into my existing door positions (no hifi option) to replace them.

I'm a music producer, so I spend a lot of time listening to music on all sorts of speakers/monitors. After 6+ hours of listening to various brands of high end car speakers at several dealers, I chose the Focal PS 165FX. They were to my ears the best at reproducing balanced, natural sound. One of my main goals was that they would work well with a wide variety of music. I played jazz, classical, rock, hard rock, pop, opera, singer/songwriter, bluegrass, country, hip-hop, etc. They worked well with everything, which is a particularly difficult test. The only speaker I liked as much were ARC Audio Blacks and they cost $350 more per pair.

I had the Focals installed and paired them with two JL Audio 8" subwoofers. Many thanks and a big shout-out to Rod Birch at Car Audio Innovations in Roseville, CA for supplying the subs and lots of expert 993-specific advice at no extra charge. Rod makes sub enclosures that fit in the rear footwells of the 993 perfectly. They're covered in matching carpet and can be easily removed if you choose to bring back the car to stock configuration. You wouldn't even notice they were there unless you need to haul kids around in the rear seats. The system is powered by an ARC Audio 6 channel amp that fits under the passenger seat.